OLD HOME WEEK CELEBRATION
Dale Charles Wint
Old Home Week
Catasauqua's Old Home Week celebration was held for seven days, starting on Sunday, June 28, 1914 and culminating on Saturday, July 4, 1914. The celebration had been advocated for many years prior to its enactment. Edmund Randall, former editor and founder of the Catasauqua Dispatch, was its most persistent advocate and he was known as the father of the Old Home Week idea. The celebration had a duel significance. Originally planned for a reunion of families and the homecoming of friends, it had an added attraction of being held during the year of the seventy-fifth anniversary of the founding of the Lehigh Crane Iron Company.
The Old Home Week Association was organized during the summer of 1913 with the following officers: President, Leonard Peckitt; Secretaries, Daniel B. Quinn and Harry H. Aubrey; Treasurer, James S. Stillman. Ten committees were then formed with the following chairmen: Joseph S. Elverson, finance: William H. Glace, historical; Rev. David R. Griffith, memorial; Captain Joseph Matchette, parade and music; Edmund Randall, publicity; Albert B. Lee, fireworks; Thomas Deemer, decorations; John L. Schick, entertainment; Harry B. Weaver, educational; Wilson Scott, concessions.
The finance committee was chaired by Joseph S. Elverson, with the following members: Rowland T. Davies, secretary; George B. F. Deily, D. George Dery, F. H. Hartman, H. Morley Holton, Herman Kostenbader, Jonas F. Moyer, Howard V. Swartz, Charles Lawall, Rufus H. Wint, Charles L. Lehnert, Wilson Scott, John Smajda, Oscar J. Stein, Edward L. Walker, Franklin Goldsmith Jr. and John W. Geiger.
Catasauquans were very liberal with their purses in an effort to make the Old Home Week celebration a success. Contributions amounting to approximately four thousand dollars were received. The entertainment committee, which had run benefits and concerts, turned over one thousand dollars and the concession committee netted approximately seven hundred and fifty dollars.
The parades and music were budgeted at one thousand dollars and one thousand eight hundred dollars was spent on decorations. The cost of the publication "A History of Catasauqua" was approximately five hundred and fifty dollars and four hundred and fifty dollars was spent on fireworks.
The historical committee of the Old Home Week Association had the following members: William H. Glace, chairman; Rev. James F. Lambert, secretary; Henry J. Reinhard, Hon. James B. Loux, C. P. Roberts, Dr. Daniel Yoder, Thomas Jones, Rev. James A. Little, David Davis, Thomas Quinn, Frank M. Horn, Rev. John A. Seimetz, Edmund Randall and Rev. A. P. Frantz.
During a meeting of the historical committee, which was held November 29, 1913 in the parlors of the Phoenix Fire Company, it was resolved to publish a history of the borough. Rev. James F. Lambert, Pastor of St. Paul's Lutheran Church, and Henry J. Reinhard, Supervising Principal of Catasauqua Schools, were unanimously elected editors of the proposed history. They in turn prevailed upon their friends: Gus E. Oswald, Principal of the High School; Alfred C. Lewis, instructor in the Commercial Department; and DeAlton F. Gould, of the English Department to assist them in their work. On May 6, 1914, at a meeting held at the High School Building, it was resolved to print one thousand copies of "A History of Catasauqua," and they were to be sold at a cost of one dollar and twenty-five cents per copy.
William H. Glace, who was popularly known as "the historian of Catasauqua," published his own one hundred and twelve page volume called "Early History arid Reminiscences of Catasauqua" in February of 1914.
The Alumni Association of Catasauqua published a one hundred and fifty page "History of the Public Schools of Catasauqua, Pennsylvania." The history was written by James B. Loux, class of 1864. and Charles R. Horn, class of 1879. The book contained the history of the public schools of Catasauqua, with a brief sketch of the schools of Hanover Township prior to the incorporation of the borough. Seven hundred and fifty paper bound volumes were published and were sold for fifty cents per copy.
The Rev. David P. Griffith was the chairman of the memorial committee and the following served as its members: James H. Lennon, secretary: Horace Boyd, Daniel Davis, D. George Dery, Henry S. Harte, Lt. Cot. James W. Fuller, Leonard Peckitt, James S. Stillman, Robert Wilbert, Walter Wyckoff, Harry B. Weaver, William R. Thomas Jr. and Harry Seaman.
The memorial committee was established to perpetuate the memory of the celebration. The memorial was to be dependent upon the amount of funds available after the celebrations. Numerous persons advocated erecting a monument to the memory of David Thomas, builder of the Lehigh Crane Iron Works and father of the town. Others urged for the securing and equipping of a playgrounds. The amount of money available to the committee and how it was used has been lost to history.
Parade and Music Committee
The parade and music committee was chaired by Captain Joseph Matchette. The committee was composed of about one hundred members. The general committee was divided into subcommittees, each of which made separate arrangements for its individual parade. The chairman of each sub-committee also served as marshal of their respective parades. Harry B. Weaver served as chairman of the sub-committee for the educational parade; Wilson Scott was chairman of the Mummers parade sub-committee; Joseph D. Matchette of the fraternal parade subcommittee; Henry Zeaser of the fireman's parade sub-committee and Captain Joseph Matchette served also as chairman of the historical sub-committee. Under this general committee a sports sub-committee was also formed and it was chaired by Granville Brown. Captain Matchette and his committee also had under their complete charge the Catasauqua Pioneer Band and the West Catasauqua Band and through-out the week band concerts were held during the evening hours.
The chairmanship of the publicity committee naturally was given to Edmund Randall. The committee members were as follows: Harry H. Aubrey, secretary, Reuben C. Weaver, Eugene 1. Quinn, William P. Scanlin, Daniel B. Quinn and John S. Matchette, editor and new owner of the Catasauqua Dispatch.
The publicity committee had ten thousand official program books of twenty pages printed and six thousand smaller circulars were issued. The circulars were sent to all parts of the country. Posters were also printed and distributed through out the area. Thousands of souvenir watch fobs, mirrors, stickers and pennants were sold through the efforts of the committee. The expenditures of the committee were approximately six hundred dollars, all of which were met by the proceeds from the souvenirs.
The fireworks committee was chaired by Albert B. Lee, and had the following members: William P. Scanlin, secretary; William B. Clark, Edwin Chapman, Ogden E. Frederick, Frank J. Fatzinger, Samuel S. Graffin, Al Beckman, Edwin C. Koons, Joseph Kane, Harry Sieger, James Stewart and H. W. Schwartz.
The fireworks committee contracted the Olympic Fireworks Company of Fairview, N. J., to furnish and discharge the fireworks displays. The fireworks were discharged on the vacant ground adjoining the water works. The fireworks displays were held at 8:45 o'clock in the evening on Thursday and Saturday, under the supervision of Joseph La Donne.
The membership of the decorations committee was as follows: Thomas Deemeer, chairman; Edward Schlough Jr., secretary; Oliver J. Benvenuti, Robert J. Beitel, Ralph C. Boyer, John J. Gemmel, Franklin Goldsmith Sr., Daniel Gillespie, Samuel S. Graffin, Wilmer T. Kleppinger, August F. Kostenbader, Milton O. Knause, E. Leh, W. Loughridge, William J. McBride, Thomas Porter, William E. Richards, John L. Schick, Oscar J. Schugar, John J. Williams, John Williams, Edgar J. Lawall, Samuel Gemmel, Charles N. Albert, George H. Moran, Edward Satowski, Edwin Smith, Franklin Goldsmith Jr., William Samuels, John Mengelson, Samuel Kleppinger David Gillespie, John Leickel, George Young, John Waddick, Joseph D. Matchette, M. M. Cunningham Jr., William Ernst and William Dilcher.
The decoration committee laid out the court of honor, which extended from Front to Third Street on Bridge Street and from Pine to Church Street on Second Street. Twenty-two columns composed the court with an arch at each end. The court of honor was brilliantly illuminated with ten thousand red, white and blue electric lights. The electrical work was handled by the firm of Deemer and Litzenberger. The committee hired Lewis M. Jones, a Third ward contractor, to build the arches that were erected to greet the homecomer at every entrance to the town. The arches were located at the following places: Race Street, East Catasauqua; Front and Race Streets; Front and Bridge Streets; Front and Pine Streets; Second and Pine Streets; Third and Bridge Streets; Second and Church Streets; Howertown Road and Walnut Street; Third and Eugene Streets, North Catasauqua. The Borough of North Catasauqua and the Bryden Gun Club erected an arch at the entrance of the gun club grounds. Also the F. W. Wint Lumber Company erected their own arch across Front Street by their main office, below Spring Street. Private residences and business places through out the borough were decorated in the red, white and blue scheme. The home of Peter J. Laubach and his brother-in-law, George B. F. Deily, was acknowledged as the most beautifully decorated. The home, located on the north side of Race Street next to the canal, was decorated with flags and bunting and during the evening it was illuminated by three hundred and fifty electric lights.
The entertainment committee was chaired by John L. Schick and the following persons served as members: William R. Thomas Jr., Henry S. Harte, Daniel B. Quinn, Joseph Kane and Harry H. Aubrey.
The entertainment committee preformed its hardest labors during the months preceding the Old Home Week celebration. Under its auspices many benefit shows were held in the Majestic and Palace theatres and the Choral Society rendered two concerts. The entertainment committee turned over approximately one thousand dollars to the general fund in advance of the celebration.
The educational committee had the following members: Harry B. Weaver, chairman; Henry J. Reinhard, Charles R. Horn, George T. Moran, John T. Small, Rowland T. Davies, Harry E. Graffin, Robert Gibson, William Smith, Gus E. Oswald, Alfred C. Lewis, C. D. Hummel, DeAlton F. Gould, Harry H. Aubrey, Samuel L. Kleppinger, Isaac A. Kemp, John S. Matchette, Peter Deitz, Theodore Geiger, Andrew Calm, Henry Klingler, Edwin Klega, Robert Johann, Harry Imp, John Desmond, August Girard Jr., Frank Coyle, James O'Donnell and John F. Waddick.
The educational committee was in charge of organizing the first parade of the Old Home Week celebration and to organize a reunion of the Alumni Association.
Wilson Scott served as chairman of the concessions committee and the following served as its members; Daniel Gillespie, secretary; Joseph Milson, John Fisher, Harry H. Aubrey, Daniel B. Quinn, David Gillespie, Rufus W. C. Wint and William H. Schneller.
The concessions committee sold the rights to the concessions for the grand midway to the Meyerhoff Attractions for seven hundred and fifty dollars. The midway was located on the Crane Iron Works lot between Church and Wood Streets and Front and Second Streets. The concessionaire billed six large shows, including horse shows, dog shows, big act shows and sideshows. There was also a Ferris wheel, riding devices, ocean waves, merry-go-round and other amusements that cost the patrons a nickel or a dime.
Business and Industries
The industries of the Iron Borough declared a holiday for their employees. Many of the smaller business establishments were also closed for the entire week, while others worked only in the morning. This allowed their workers to enjoy the afternoon parades and entertainments. The National Bank of Catasauqua and the Lehigh National Bank closed early at the beginning of the week and closed entirely on Thursday and Friday. Several of the area cement mills also granted holidays to their employees.
Comfort Stations and Drinking Fountains
Public comfort stations were provided at the following locations: On Front Street at the F. W. Wint Company lumber yard, opposite Walnut Street; rear of the Majestic Theatre; Crane Iron Works, opposite Wood Street. On Second Street at Second and Race Streets; rear of Kock & Younger's feed store; Second Street School building; rear of St. Lawrence Parochial School. On Howertown Road at the rear of the Lenox Manufacturing Company, on School Street; Lincoln and High School buildings; Howertown Road and Walnut Street. On Bridge Street at the Eagle Hotel livery stable yard. On Church Street at the rear of the Municipal Building. On Union Street at St. Mary's Parochial School.
Public drinking fountains were attached to the fire hydrants along the parade routes.
The Borough of Catasauqua had been served by the Lehigh Valley Transit Company with fifteen-minute trolley service to Allentown and half hour service to Siegfried (Northampton) and Egypt. For the Old Home Week celebration the company was under orders from its president, H. P. Fehr, to give Catasauqua the best service, so that all residents and visitors would be speedily transported, with safety and satisfaction. The schedule was worked out by Traffic Manager C. C. Collins and Superintendent George E. Miller and during Old Hone Week cars ran every ten minutes, and as demands warranted, every five minutes.
Returning Catasauquans were also provided with excellent train service by the Lehigh Valley Railroad and a number of special trains were charted by visiting delegations.
Hospital headquarters were stationed in the corridor of the old Lincoln School building with two nurses, Misses Heller and Mullin, in charge. The following physicians were on duty: Tuesday, Drs. Hornbeck and Riegel; Wednesday, McAvoy and Schneller; Thursday, Kiem and Riegel; Friday, McAvoy and Hornbeck; Saturday, Kiem and Schneller. An ambulance with a physician also followed each parade
The Catasauqua police force, led by Chief Charles F. Sheckler, was assisted by Sergeant H. K. Merrifield, who commanded five mounted troopers of Troop C. stationed at Pottsville. They arrived on Saturday, June 27, 1914 and they made their headquarters at the Pennsylvania Hotel. The troopers were: Ralph Mordie, Charles Eyler, Walter Stillwell, William Banks and Charles Snodgrass.
A Bureau of Information was operated at 411 Front Street, which also served as the Old Home Week Headquarters.
Old Home Week
Sunday, June 28, 1914
Catasauqua awoke at the start of a new week to an early morning rain, which gave way to a cloudy and raw atmosphere. Half way around the world in Sarajevo, the capital of the Austrian province of Bosnia-Herzegovina, the Archduke Franz Ferdinand, heir to the Austro-Hungarian throne, and his rnoganatic wife, Sophie, the Duchess of Hohenberg, were assassinated by Gavrilo Princip, a Bonian Serb. This incident was the spark that started the march of the empires of Europe to the catastrophe known as the Great War.
The Old Home Week celebration started with special thanksgiving and commemorative services delivered in all of Catasauqua's churches. Sermons were delivered from many pulpits by former pastors who returned to greet their former parishioners and to enjoy with them the great occasion.
First Presbyterian Church
The pastor, Rev. Charles H. Miller, conducted the morning service and the Rev. John E. Booth, of Ramona, South Dakota, coming back to Catasauqua for the first time in twenty-five years, delivered the sermon in the evening service. A special musical program was featured with Levis Kreidler, a member of the Century Opera Company, of Chicago and Mrs. Margaret (Nevins) Leibert, a member of the Bach Choir of Bethlehem, rendered vocal solos at the evening service. James Prescott, of Allentown, a former organist of the church had charge of the musical program.
St. Paul's Lutheran Church
The Rev. James F. Lambert, pastor of St. Paul's Lutheran Church, devoted his sermon to the Old Home Week celebration, discoursing particularly upon the religious significance of the affair.
St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church
The Rev. John A. Seimetz, pastor of St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church, touched upon the Old Home Week celebration in his morning service. During the service, Rev. Seimetz welcomed many former parishioners and urged his members to show their appreciation of this great occasion by doing all they could for the entertainment and convenience of the home-corners.
Salem Reformed Church
The Rev. A. P. Frantz, pastor of Salem Reformed Church, turned his pulpit over to the following; Rev. W. F. More, D. D., superintendent of Bethany Orphans Hone at Womelsdorf, Pa., served as pastor from 1886 to 1904 and he delivered the morning sermon. Rev. I. H. DeLong, a son of the congregation and professor at Franklin and Marshall Theological Seminary, occupied the pulpit at the evening service. Rev. A. B. Koplin, D. D. of Hellertown, a former pastor (1873-1877) attended the evening service.
St. Stephen's Episcopal Church
Rev. James 8. May, pastor of St. Stephen's Episcopal Church, was an ardent advocate of the Old Home Week celebration and during the morning service he dwelled almost completely on that subject. After welcoming the home-corners, he proceeded with an historical sketch of Catasauqua. Emmanuel Evangelical Church
The Rev. J. G. Swengel, pastor of Emmanuel Evangelical Church, turned over his pulpit to Presiding Elder Thomas L. Wentz. Rev. Wentz served this congregation from 1889 to 1891.
Grace Methodist Episcopal Church
Rev. A. L. Shalkop, pastor of Grace Methodist Episcopal Church, made mention of the Old Home Week celebration in the introductory remarks of his sermon. He welcomed home-corners back to their former home and their former place of worship. None of the church's former pastors were able to return for the celebration.
Bridge Street Presbyterian Church
Rev. Harry W. Ewig, pastor of the Bridge Street Presbyterian Church, turned over his pulpit to Rev. Joseph L. Weisley, of Forty Fort, Pa., a son of the congregation. Rev. Weisley delivered the sermon for both the morning and evening services. A special musical program was rendered at each service. At the morning service a mixed quartet, composed of Mrs. Joseph McKeever, Susan Tolan, Ray McNabb and Robert McKeever, rendered several selections. Mrs. Joseph L. Weisley, of Forty Fort, and Miss Morris, of Philadelphia, sang solos at the evening service.
Hokendauqua Presbyterian Church
Rev. James P. Little, pastor of the Hokendauqua Presbyterian Church, made the Old Home Week celebration the burden of his sermon. Although boundary lines put this church outside of the Iron Borough its parishioners were residents of Catasauqua and its history was tied to the First Presbyterian Church of Catasauqaua. Rev. Little's sermon dwelt upon the honor due to old places, to old doctrines, old things, old relics and old people, in the course of which he spoke of Catasauqua's glorious past.
All through the day the railroad stations were happy meeting places. Home-corners arrived from all parts of the country. The Meyerhoff Attractions arrived in the afternoon and immediately started the erection of their tents. The show people hurried about town seeking places for lodging and board with little success. At 8:00 o'clock in the evening the thousands of lights adorning the arches and the court of honor were lit for the first time. Special trolley cars brought hundreds of people to town to see the decorations and the spectacular illuminations. Front Street was crowded throughout the afternoon and evening.
Monday, June 29, 1914
The morning began with cloudy and threatening skies but these gave way late in the afternoon to a bright sun and a cool air. The day was used by many for a general reunion of families and social and fraternal societies. The midway opened for its first day and was greeted by a large crowd of celebrants. The crowds were orderly and good natured and stayed out late. The police informed eight undesirables who ventured into the borough that it would be best for them to leave town at once. The Phoenix Fire Company installed a lunchroom in the basement of the firehouse for the convenience of members and their guests. The eats were free and the place did a thriving business. A string of electric lights in the court of honor in front of the National Bank of Catasauqua were blown down by the wind and a score of bulbs were broken. The damage was repaired at once.
A concert was given by the Catasauqua Choral Society on St. Paul's Lutheran Church lawn, at 7:45 P.M. One hundred and fifty voices composed the chorus and it was directed by Matthew Webber. After the concert Leonard Peckitt, president of the Old Home Week Association, tendered a formal welcome to all the home-corners. He talked briefly about the celebration and its connection with the seventy-fifth anniversary of the founding of the Crane Iron Works by David Thomas. President Peckitt then introduced Dr. John A. W. Haas, D. 0., LL.D., president of Muhlenberg College, who delivered the principal address. Dr. Haas spoke of Catasauqua, its great achievements, glorious history and honored men. He pointed out that the history of Catasauqua has been exceedingly representative and progressive. In speaking of the iron industry, he said no one could fully write the history of Pennsylvania or of the United States without going back to the great industry commenced here seventy-five years ago, which was being commemorated by the celebration. Dr. Haas also congratulated Catasauqua upon its diversity of industry. Added to the iron industry was the loom, axle works, iron products and lumberyard, a condition which makes it not dependent upon any single industry. Concluding, Dr. Haas urged that this great celebration was not only to commemorate the glorious history of the past, but to arouse a greater civic interest.
A band concert by the Catasauqua Band was held at 8:45 P.M. at Second and Race Streets.
Tuesday, June 30, 1914
The Educational Day of the Old Home Week celebration was a hot and sunny day. The main event of this day was a parade of all the school children of the Catasauqua and North Catasauqua public schools and St. Mary's and St. Lawrence Parochial schools. The alumni association of Catasauqua and North Catasauqua were also in line. The parade was declared the most beautiful ever seen in Catasauqua to that time. Each child was costumed, and the costumes of the children of each grade were exactly alike.
The most beautiful exhibition was the human flag, portrayed by three hundred and twelve students of St. Mary's Parochial School. The flag was formed by the children marching thirteen abreast to represent the stripes of the flag, these lines being twenty-four children deep, making a proportionate depth. The children of an upper corner wore hats of stars. The marching showed perfect drilling with a resulting picture, beautiful and inspiring. The "human flag" was accorded great applause throughout the march. s they reached their school house, they halted and sang "America" after which they again started their march.
Starting at. 4:00 P.M. the parade covered a distance of three miles in one and one-half hours. The parade formed at the High School building, Howertown Road and Peach Street. The line of march went north on Howertown Road to Walnut Street, down Walnut Street to Fourth Street, north on Fourth Street to Buttonwood Street, down Buttonwood Street to Third Street, south on Third Street to Arch Street, down Arch Street to Second Street, south on Second Street to Chapel Street, down Chapel Street to Front Street, south on Front Street to Union Street, up Union Street to Second Street, north on Second Street, through the Court of Honor to the Second Street School building.
Harry B. Weaver, chairman of the educational committee of the Old Home Week Association, led the parade as chief marshal. Aides: Rowland T. Davies, Harry E. Graffin, Robert Gibson and William Smith followed, after whom came the members of the Catasauqua Board of Education: James S. Stillman, president; Clifford H. Riegel, secretary; Edwin Chapman, treasurer; Joseph S. Elverson, Rowland D. Thomas, John J. Williams and also serving on the board was Harry B. Weaver.
The first division was led by Marshal Henry J. Reinhard and his aides, Gus E. Oswald, Alfred C. Levis, C. D. Hummel and DeAlton F. Gould. This division was composed of the children of the Catasauqua public schools and was led by the Fullertown Band.
The members of the high school came next, dressed in white and with their right shoulders covered in bunting of the national colors. The high school represented the Goddess of Liberty. The seventh and eighth grades were uniformed as Uncle Sam's and were led by their instructor, Francis Sheckler. Sixth graders were costumed as surgeons and nurses and were under teachers, Sarah J. McIntyre, Hannah Davis and Mayme Torrance. The fourth and fifth graders were sailors and lassies and were led by Stella McKeever, Ellen Tait and Mabel Weisley. The third grade students under teachers, Mildred Heilman, Sophie Matchette and Amanda Funk, were dressed as campfire girls and boys. The second graders were attired as farm boys and milkmaids and were led by teachers, Helen Buck, Mildred Lawall and Jennie Helman. The first grade children, the smallest and youngest in line, were dressed as red tulips and buttercups, their appearance was unlike anything else in the parade and they received rounds of applause. The first graders were under teachers Mayme McCandless and Mary Leikel.
The Bethlehem Steel Company Band, of ninety pieces, led the Catasauqua Alumni Association to start the second division. Marshal Charles R. Horn led the alumni association, of which he was also its president. His aides were Harry H. Aubrey, Samuel L. Kleppinger, Isaac A. Kemp and John S. Matchette. The earliest classes of the alumni association were given precedence in the line of march. Many of the latter classes carried Maypoles with streamers of their respective class colors reaching to each member.
Next came the North Catasauqua Board of Education: Edwin C. A. Rockel, president; Harry Steyert, secretary; Nathan A. Bartholomew, treasurer, Henry B. Webber and Charles H. Kosman. They were followed by the North Catasauqua Alumni Association; with the North Catasauqua public school children bring up the rear. The school children were led by Professor Joseph Kane, principal of the North Catasauqua School. The students in the grades taught by Elizabeth McNally and Martha Hammer were attired as scouts, fire lads and campfire girls. The grade children taught by Agnes Souders were uniformed as farmer boys and milkmaids.
The third division was led by Marshal George J. Moran and his aides were Peter Deitz, Theodore Geiger, Andrew Galm, Henry Klinger, Edwin Kiega and Robert Johann. Music was furnished by the Catasauqua Band. Father John A. Seimetz led the children of St. Mary's Parochial School. The three hundred and twelve students formed a "human flag", which was by far the prettiest feature of the parade.
Marshal John T. Small led the fourth division with Harry Imp, John Desmond, August Girard Jr., Frank. Coyle, James O'Donnell and John F. Waddick as his aides. The division was composed of children of St. Lawrence Parochial School and they were dressed in white with trimmings of red, white and blue and they carried flag parasols.
During the course of the parade there was a little excitement when the horses drawing the ambulance, which had two physicians aboard, started a runaway. The team was brought under control and the doctors were uninjured. The ambulance then continued to follow the parade to its climax.
The annual reunion of the Alumni Association was held in the early evening. At the reception the nineteen members of the graduating class of 1914 were received into membership. They were as follows: John E. B. Arthur, Richard A. Coleman, Warren H. Deeemer, Minerva H. Demmrich, Matthew S. Dougherty, Russell J. Eckensberger, Harliegh F. Fatzinger, Bertha I. Hopkins, John W. H. Koch, Theresa H. Lipsky, Austin E. McKeever, John R. McKeever, Harry L. Moat, J. Russell Moat, Lawrence R. Newman, Dorothy I. Riegel, Robert E. Ritter, Elena B. Schifreen and David N. Searfass. The following officers were re-elected: President, Charles R. Horn; Vice president, Bessie Davis; Recording secretary, Estella McKeever; Corresponding secretary, Isaac A. Kemp. Later in the evening the Alumni Association held a dance in the gymnasium of the high school.
The Alumni Association was organized through the efforts of Gertrude Kemp and Ethel E. Edwards, of the class of 1896. The first preliminary meeting was held early in August of 1896 at the home of Miss Kemp. George Davies, class of 1892, presided. At this meeting a resolution was passed advocating the permanent organization of the association. On August 18, 1896, Frank M. Horn, cashier of the National Bank of Catasauqua and a member of the first graduating class of 1868, was elected as the first president. He served from 1896 to 1898, and his successors were as follows: Charles R. Horn, 1898 - 1904; Abner H. Buck, 1904 - 1911: Rufus W. C. Wint, 1911 - 1913; and Charles R. Horn. 1913 - 1914.
At 8:00 P.M. band concerts were held by the Bethlehem Steel Company Band, at the High School Auditorium; the Stemton Band at 12th and Race Streets; and the Catasauqua Band at Howertown Road and Walnut Street.
Because of the large crowds on the midway, police roped off Second Street between Wood Street and Church Street, preventing all wagon and automobile traffic. The midway was filled with a large crowd, noisy but good-natured, all evening.
Wednesday, July 1, 1914
The Old Home Week celebration had a set back due to inclement weather. Rain commenced falling at 1:30 P.M. and continued until late in the evening. During the early evening hours the rain turned into a light drizzle. Some of the days scheduled events had to be postponed until a later time.
A reunion was held on the lawn adjoining St. Paul's Lutheran Church at 11:00 in the morning. The affair, which was attended by over four hundred people, was arranged by William J. Snyder, of Brazil, Indiana and Frank R. Tait, of Dayton, Ohio. William J. Snyder acted as a leader of the meeting and he called upon many of the home-corners for a short address. Thomas W. Bevan, former principle of schools at Catasauqua was the first speaker, being followed by Robert D. Laramy, superintendent of schools at Easton, Pa. The next speaker was Samuel Davis, of Port Oran, New Jersey, and he was followed by Andrew Stolz, father of former Burgess Henry W. Stolz. Mr. Stolz, aged 85 years, spoke of his arrival in Catasauqua in 1855. Charles R. Horn was next called upon and he expressed his pleasure at seeing so many old faces. Rev. John F. Booth, of Romona, South Dakota, said Catasauqua was the most sacred spot in the world to him. He had been absent from the borough for twenty-five years, having a charge in South Dakota. Frank R. Tait, president of the Dayton Electric Light Company, told of reminiscences of the old days. Griffith R. Lewis, former mayor of Cripple Creek, Colorado, made the trip in by automobile, spoke of his early days in Catasauqua. Henry Davis, general manager of the Carnegie Steel Works at Clairton, Pa., delivered a short talk, as did the following: Miss Jessie Harbison, of College Hill, Pa.; William H. Glace; Mrs. Isaac Beam, of Port Carbon, Pa.: Mrs. J. H. Ogburn, of Bethlehem; Mrs. Margaret (Nevins) Leibert, of Bethlehem; and Rev. Daniel Overtone of Islip, Long Island. William J. Snyder in closing the meeting thanked the residents of Catasauqua for their magnificent, gorgeous and glorious celebration. The assembled home-corners were placed in a gigantic group and photographed.
A registered shoot was held at the Bryden Gun Club grounds, at Fifth and Buttonwood Streets, North Catasauqua, at 10:00 A.M. Professional and expert amateurs participated in the event. Rain fell during part of the program to the annoyance of the marksmen. Joseph Hand, a member of the Sheridan Gun Club, of Tower City, won the first prize of a gold watch for the high gun amateur. In order to do so, however, he had to shoot off four ties with Howard Schlicher, of the North End Gun Club, of Allentown, and won in the fourth by one break. George Silfies was high gun among the members of the Bryden Gun Club with a score of 110 breaks out of a possible 120. He was awarded first prize, a cup donated by Alexander Morrow. Second prize, a cup donated by Frank McCarty, was won by Webb Hepner with a total score of 108, and George Cope won the third place cup, donated by John Smadja, with a total score of 102. Among the professional shooters, Mr. Skid tied with Mrs. Adolph Topperwein, of San Antonio, Texas, with total scores of 117. Granville Brown, president of the Bryden Gun Club, was in charge of the event.
The numerous athletic contests, which were to start at 3:30 P.M., were postponed until Friday at 10:00 in the morning. However the Marathon race, which had been scheduled for 10:00 A.M., was run with ten starters. It was won by Clement Hauser. His time for the distance of five miles was twenty-three minutes, fifteen and two fifths seconds. Charles Harteg finished second; Henry Lee, third; David Faulkner, fourth and William Young, Harry Cope, George Prebula, Austin Lee and Gabriel Gray in order named. Ed Greer, the tenth starter, dropped out before the race was concluded. The runners started at Front and Pine Streets and ran over the following route: on Front Street south to Race Street; on Race Street to Second Street; north on Second Street to Chapel Street; on Chapel Street to Third Street; south on Third Street to Bridge Street; on Bridge Street to Second Street; south on Second Street to Howertown Road; north on Howertown Road to Arch Street; on Arch Street to Front Street; south on Front Street to Pine Street.
The automobile parade was postponed until seven o'clock Thursday evening and the Mummer's parade was postponed until Friday night. With the rain turning to a light drizzle in the evening the midway was well filled.
Thursday, July 2, 1914
Rain again fell on the borough, commencing at 12:15 P.M. and continuing for half an hour. The sun broke through the clouds after the rain, although the skies contained many dark clouds during the afternoon.
The fraternal day parade started at 2:30 P.M. at Third and Arch Streets. It proceeded down Arch Street to Front Street; south on Front Street to Race Street; up Race Street to Second Street; north on Second Street to Howertown Road; north on Howertown Road to Walnut Street; down Walnut Street to Fourth Street; south on Fourth Street to Bridge Street; down Bridge Street to Third Street: north on Third Street to Chapel Street; down Chapel Street to Second Street; south on Second Street, through the court of honor, to Union Street.
The rain that preceded the parade had an effect on keeping some of the marchers from participating in the celebration. The rain started falling at the time many of the fraternal organizations throughout the valley were preparing to come to the parade. As a result the procession was only about half its expected size.
The parade was led by Chief Marshal Joseph D. Matchette and he was followed by his aides: Harry Onuschak, A. H. Eckert, W. H. Smith and Daniel Milson. The first division was led by Marshal William H. Scanlin and he was followed by the Catasauqua Band. The following organizations were in the line of march: Catasauqua Lodge, No. 269, I.O.O.F.; Aluta Lodge, I.O.O.F.; Orpah Lodge, Daughters of Rebekah; Allentown Pioneer Band; Fraternity Encampment, Allentown; Coplay Band; No Surrender Council, No. 103, Jr. O.U.A.M. and their guests.
The second division was led by Marshal August Hohl and his aides: Joseph Reisinger, Nicholas Retzler and Frank Hose. The line of march was as follows: Juvenile Band; St. Nicholas Beneficial Society, Catasauqua; Knights of St. George, Allentown.
Marshal Charles W. Schneller led the third division and was followed by his aides: Jonas Moyer, Ammon H. Bachman and John Bartholomew. The line of march was as follows: Young American Band, Allentown; Washington Camp. No. 301, P.O.S. of A., Catasauqua; Emaus Guards, P.O.S. of A.; Weaversville Camp, No. 451, P.O.S. of A.; West Catasauqua Band: Catasauqua Castle, No. 241, Knights of the Golden Eagle.
The fourth division was led by Marshal Wilson Scott and his aides were Charles Mengelson, James Peacock, 14. R. Heilman and James Troxell. The line of march was as follows: Stemtbn Band, Northampton; Catasauqua Tribe, No. 204, Improved Order of Red Men.
The fifth division was led by Marshal Charles Lynch and his aides were John Waddick and Thomas McClain. The line of march was as follows: Total Abstinence and Beneficial Society Drum Corps; South Bethlehem Drill Corps: Cadet Drum Corps; St. Lawrence Total Abstinence and Beneficial Society and their guests.
Joseph Robosky and Frank Malosky led the sixth division and the line of march was as follows: National Band; St. Andrews Society and guests.
Marshal Johh Smadja led the seventh division and the line of march was as follows: Woodmen of the World Band; St. Cyril Society and their guests.
The eighth division was led by Howard Benvenuti, W. F. Engler and James Williams. The line of march was as follows: Knights of the Golden Eagle Band, Pleasantville. New Jersey; Knights of Malta and their guests; Fullerton Band; Knights of Friendship Lodge, Allentown and their guests; Knights of Friendship Band, Slatington; Knights of Friendship Lodge, Slatington; Marine Band, Allentown; Catasauqua Camp No. 250, Woodmen of the World.
Cup, donated by the Lehigh Thermometer Company, for out of town fraternal organization with most men in line, went to Knights of Friendship Lodge, Slatington.
Lamp, donated by Hess Bros., for ladies fraternal organization having largest number in line, went to Orpah Lodge, Daughters of Rebekah.
Flag, donated by E. J. Dougherty, of the Bijou Theatre, for local fraternal organization having largest number of men in line, went to St. Nicholas Beneficial Society.
Cup, donated by Farr Bros., of Allentown, for best-drilled organizations went to Emaus Guards, No. 398, P.O.S. of A., of Emaus.
Trophy, donated by Koch Bros., of Allentown, for the organization making best appearance, went to Catasauqua Tribe, No. 204, Improved Order of Red Men.
The automobile parade was an added attraction put on the Old Home Week program by Daniel Milson. The parade was held at 7:00 P.M. and a slight rainfall interfered somewhat at the end of the event. The committee on arrangements was composed of Daniel Milson, Peter J. Laubach, Joseph Elverson and Adolph P. Schneider. The Judges of the parade were Reuben C. Weaver, C. C. Kaiser, Edwin A. Donecker and David A. Miller.
First prize of twenty dollars went to Lewis Brown, of Catasauqua. His car was decorated with green vines, studded with pink, red and white roses. Milton O. Knauss won the second prize of ten dollars and the third prize of five dollars was won by H. Dale Thomas, of Globe, Arizona. Honorable mention was given to Lt. Col. James W. Fuller, Dr. Harry J. Keim and Frederick A. Steward.
The following were in line: H. Dale Thomas, Peter J. Laubach, Joseph Elverson, Milton O. Knauss, Adolph P. Schneider, West Catasauqua Garage, W. Fry, William Kurtz, George Prokop, Frank Geist, Charles Delabore, R. L. Weisel, Joseph Sketchley Elverson, Levis Jones, Hersh Hardware Company, Lewis Brown, W. F. Peters, C. F. Wieand. J. E. Schaffer, Lt. Col. James W. Fuller, C. C. Kaiser, Charles Albert, Dr. Harry J. Keim, J. M. Schaadt, Alfred J. Sterner, Alfred P. Balliet, William F. Fenstermacher, Frederick A. Steward, Edwin A. Donecker, A. R. Hawk, Wilson J. Smith, Frank Mauser, Joseph Milson, Allen H. Cressman, L. A. Schneider, Henry McNabb, J. F. Campbell, Lucius McHose, Thomas Deemer, James Aubrey and William H. Schneller.
The fireworks display took place at 8:45 P.M. at the vacant field adjoining the Municipal Water Works. The display was managed by the Olympic Fireworks Company, under the personal direction of Joseph La Donne. Its start was announced by the explosion of a dozen nine inch aerial maroons, which made a terrific noise. Then followed a pretty illumination with the ignition of several dozen bengolders, red and green in color. Dozens of bombs were next exploded, emitting green, red, blue, white stars with a climax of the national colors in stars. Then followed in turn the discharging of many devices, novel shell parachutes throwing off stars of changing colors, electric flashes spreading and sending forth electric scintillations, with scores of exhibition rockets, whistling wheels and a representation of Niagara Falls, starry canopies, heavenly search lights, pyrotechnic bouquets, dazzling serpents, a Neopolitan bombardment, a grand cannonade and numerous other fireworks of the most beautiful and brilliant design. Thousands of people from Catasauqua, Allentown and the cement regions were on hand to witness this spectacular display.
The police arrested two gangs of pickpockets at the midway. The gangs were made up of two men in one gang and three men in the other. The two men were from Philadelphia and the group of three men were from New York City. They bound over on $500 bail for a hearing before Squire Roth. As they were unable to furnish bond they were lodged in jail.
A number of "fakirs" on the midway were also ejected because it was learned that they were operating their games of chance unfairly.
Friday, July 3, 1914
The weather was pleasant and a large crowd of celebrants were on hand. The two events, the athletic meet and the Mummer's parade postponed from Wednesday's schedule, due to inclement weather, were held.
The athletic tournament was held at 10:00 A.M. on Front Street, between Bridge and Pine Streets. Eight
events were held, with the ninth event, the Marathon race, being held on Wednesday before the rainout. The events were as follows:
50 yard dash - Lee Young, first place; Benjamin Kane, second place.
100 yard dash - George Caldwell, first place; George Prebula, second place. Time, 10-1/5 seconds.
Mile relay - Catasauqua team, Charles Harteg, Russell Smith, James McGee and Jay Miller, first place: Allentown team, Sterling Demois, Frederick Schaeffer, Henry Lee and Austin Less, second place.
220 yard dash - George Caldwell, first place; J. Miller, second place.
880 yard run - David Faulkner, first place.
Mile race - Charles Harteg, first place; William Young, second place. Time, 5 minutes, 4 seconds.
Broad jump - Lloyd Samuels, first place. 17 feet, 7-1/2 inches.
High jump - James McKee, first place. 5 feet.
Rev. Harry W. Ewig served as the starter and the judges of the events were DeAlton F. Gould, Adolph P. Schneider and William Caldwell. The timekeepers were Gus E. Oswald and C. D. Hummel.
The firemen's parade started at 2:00 P.M. at 12th and Race Streets. It proceeded down Race Street to Second Street; north on Second Street to Howertown Road; north on Howertown Road to Bridge Street; down Bridge Street to Fourth Street; north on Fourth Street to Pine Street; up Pine Street to Howertown Road; north on Howertown Road to Walnut Street; down Walnut Street to Fourth Street; north on Fourth Street to Eugene Street; down Eugene Street to Third Street; south on Third Street to Chapel Street; down Chapel Street to Second Street; south on Second Street, through the court of honor, to Race Street; down Race Street to Front Street; north on Front Street to the Bryden Horse Shoe Works.
The parade was led by Chief Marshal Henry A. Zeaser and he was followed by his aides: Patrick J. McNally, Daniel Gillespie, Charles Lynch, Harvey Snyder and Robert Snyder. The first division was led by Marshal Edward S. Frick, with the line of march as follows: Pioneer Band of Allentown; Phoenix Fire Company; East Bangor Cornet Band; East Bangor Drill Corps; Allentown Band; Wharton, New Jersey, Drill Squad; Boonton F. &. D. Band; Dover, New Jersey; Fire Company; Vigilant Fire Company, of Slatington; Fullertown Band; Fullertown Fire Company; Coplay Band; Coplay Fire Company; Second Regiment Marine Band and the Sons of Veterans.
Marshal William Paul led the second division and the line of march was as follows: Southwark Hose Company, No. 9; Northampton Band; Central Fire Company of Northampton and the Protection Fire Company, of Bethlehem.
The third division was led by Marshal Christian Ross and the line of march was as follows: West Catasauqua Band and the Charotin Hose Company.
Marshal J. W. Hoch led the fourth division and the line of march was as follows: Juvenile Band, East End Fire Company and the Darktown Fire Brigade, of Hokendauqua.
Prizes were awarded as follows: Wilson J. Smith cup, for largest number of men in line from companies in Catasauqua and North Catasauqua: Won by Charotin Hose Company, North Catasauqua.
Prize vase for visiting company having largest number of men in line: Won by Fullerton Fire Company.
Leopold Ehle cup, for best darktown: Won by Darktown Fire Brigade, Hokendauqua.
$15 prize, best darktown: Won by Darktown Fire Brigade, Hokendauqua.
Cup, visiting fire company making best appearance: Won by Dover, New Jersey, Fire Company.
Cup, best drilled fire company: Won by Wharton, New Jersey, Fire Company.
$15 prize, for visiting company with best apparatus: Won by Central Fire Company, of Northampton.
The Mummer's parade, which had been postponed from Wednesday, started at 8:00 P.M. at Second and Bridge Streets. It proceeded north on Second Street to Arch Street; down Arch Street to Front Street; south on Front Street to Race Street; up Race Street to Second Street; north on Second Street to Howertown Road; north on Howertown Road to Bridge Street; down Bridge Street to Fourth Street; north on Fourth Street to Pine Street; up Pine Street to Howertown Road; north on Howertown Road to Walnut Street; down Walnut Street to Fourth Street; north on Fourth Street to Arch Street; down Arch Street to Third Street; south on Third Street to Bridge Street; down Bridge Street, through the court of honor, to Second Street; south on Second Street to Union Street.
Wilson Scott served as Chief Marshall of the Mummer's parade and his aides were Russell Moyer and Joseph H. Kane. The parade was divided into three divisions, with John Tosh serving as marshal of the first division; Charles Mengelson served as marshal of the second division and Reuben C. Weaver served as marshal of the third division.
Prizes were awarded as follows: Most grotesque costumed man, first prize, a twenty pound ham; won by Harvey Jones, of Walnutport. Second prize: Won by Reed Faust, of Catasauqua. Third prize: Won by Art Miller.
Most prettily gowned woman, first prize, silk dress material; won by Jennie Prentice, of Allentown; second prize, won by Beatrice Dougherty, of Catasauqua.
Most grotesque costumed girl, first prize, won by Elizabeth Schleicher; second prize, won by Grace Deily.
Saturday, July 4, 1914
The last day of the celebration saw immense crowds arrive, which taxed the facilities of the Lehigh Valley Transit Company to its utmost. The weather was fair and mild for the all day events
Grand Patriotic and Civic Pageant
The grand patriotic and civil pageant parade started at 2:00 P.M. at the "Double S," West Catasauqua. It proceeded down First Avenue, West Catasauqua, to Pine Street; across the Pine Street Bridge to Front Street; south on Front Street to Union Street; up Union Street to Second Street; north on Second Street, through the court of honor, to Bridge Street; up Bridge Street to Fourth Street; north on Fourth Street to Arch Street; down Arch Street to Front Street; south on Front Street to Bridge Street. Floats formed on Front Street, north of Pine Street, and joined the procession at the Pine Street Bridge.
The first division was led by Chief Marshal Captain Joseph Matchette and he was followed by his aides: Thomas Jones, Edmund Porter, William J. McBride, Daniel Milson Jr., Elbert J. Greene, Isaac A. Kemp, Wilson J. Smith and Arthur A. Greene. The line of march was as follows:
Descendants of the original inhabitants of Catasauqua; Uncle Sams; Catasauqua Band; Fourth Regiment, National Guards of Pennsylvania, Companies B., D., L. and H., in command of Col. C. T. O'Neill. Col. O'Neill rode at the head of the military division and he was followed by Col. Harry C. Trexler, of Allentown and Lt. Col. James W. Fuller, of Catasauqua, representing the governor's staff. Major C. D. Rhoads, Major E. H. Dickenshied, Capt. W. A. Ruch, Capt. C. J. Smith and Lt. J. Roderick Taylor, represented the staff of the Fourth Regiment. The companies were commanded by Capt. Orlando C. Miller, Company B.; Capt. William H. Gessner, Company D.; Capt. Frank H. Godley, Company L. and Capt. William R. Coyle, Company H. Next in the line of march were uniformed semi-military organizations, followed by the Sons of Veterans and members of the C. A. R. in carriages.
Marshal Dr. Charles J. Keim led the second division, with the line of march as follows: the ex-Burgesses of Catasauqua, in carriages; Councilmen and Borough Officials, in carriages; Letter Carriers; music, floats of historic nature and civic floats.
The following prizes were awarded to those participating in the military and civic pageant:
Cup, for best-drilled and appearing organization. Won by Uniformed Rank, Knights of Maccabees, Allentown.
Flag, for boys organization, won by Cadets Corps, of Allentown.
Cup, for the finest historical float. Won by Improved Order of Red Men, float depicting William Penn signing treaty with Indians.
Cup, for finest merchant float. Won by Schick and Hausman.
Cup, for finest industrial float, won by F. W. Wint Company.
Following the parade the national guardsmen were entertained at the Phoenix Fire Company quarters. The officers were the guests of Lt. Col. Fuller at his residence, southwest corner of Bridge Street and Howertown Road.
The fireworks display took place again at 8:45 P.M. at the vacant field adjoining the Municipal Water Works. A band concert by the Catasauqua Band preceded the show, at 8:30 P.M. The display was managed by the Olympic Fireworks Company, under the direction of Joseph La Donne. Thousands were on hand and it was deemed as beautiful as the first show.
The closing service was held at the intersection of the court of honor, between 11 and 12 P.M., with over four thousand people in attendance. The closing event was a monster song service, with the singing of songs like "America", and the "Star Spangled Banner." When the singing of the song "God Be With You Till We Meet Again" ended, the celebration passed into history.
Old Home Week
Leonard Peckitt, president of the Old Home Week Association, was born April 17, 1860, at Canton Hall, Yorkshire, England. He was the eldest of nine children comprising the family of Leonard F. and Frances (Quickfall) Peckett. His early training was by private tutor and he later studied at the Masham Grammar School, after which he spent four years under the tutelage of Prof. W. F. Stock, County Analyst at Darlington, Durham County.
In June of 1882 he crossed the Atlantic, and arriving in Philadelphia, Pa., was soon engaged by the Reading Iron Works as their chemist. After that firm failed in April 1886, he spent a month in the employ of the Allentown Iron Company as a chemist. He then took charge of the laboratory of the Crane Iron Company at Catasauqua. In the fall of 1888 he was chosen Assistant Superintendent of the Crane Iron Company, at which he served until 1890 when he was promoted to the position of Superintendent.
Mr. Peckitt served the Crane Iron Company as Assistant Superintendent, Superintendent, General Manager, Vice President and President. In 1899, he took an active part in the formation of the Empire Steel and Iron Company, which was incorporated under the laws of the State of New Jersey on March 13, 1899. He then became the first president of the new company, which located their offices in Catasauqua. He also served as a Director, National Bank of Catasauqua; Director, Catasauqua and Fogelsville Railroad; President and Director, Davies and Thomas Company; and Director, Bryden Horseshoe Company.
In Reading, in 1889, Leonard Peckitt was united in marriage with Hattie Madeline Weilder, daughter of Emanuel Weilder. This union was blessed by one child, a son, Leonard Canton Peckitt, born November 16, 1890. He was known as Carl to his friends and he attended Lafayette College and Cornell University. During 1914 he became ill with bronchial pneumonia and he traveled to Arizona for his health. After returning home he died on January 15, 1916, and his remains were interred at Fairview Cemetery.
Leonard Peckitt died on July 21, 1952, and his remains were buried at Fairview Cemetery. Hattie Madeline Peckitt died on November 19, 1952, and her body was also interred at Fairview Cemetery.
On Saturday, July 4, 1914, the living ex-Burgesses of Catasauqua were gathered together for a group photograph and to be honored during the Grand Patriotic and Civic Pageant. They were according to their seniority of office: James C. Beitel, 1870-1871; George Bower, 1874; William H. Glace, 1876; Thomas Jones, 1890-1891; Charles R. Horn, 1894-1896; Charles D. W. Bower, 1897-1899; Rufus M. Wint, 1900-1902; Henry W. Stolz, 1903-1905; Charles J. Keim M.D., 1905-1908; and Henry H. Riegel M.D., 1909-1913.
James C. Beitel
James C. Beitel was born at Nazareth on June 15, 1842. He was the son of Josiah Oliver Beitel and Maria Sophia Kern. He was educated in the Moravian school at Nazareth, and at the same time he learned the clock making business from his father. On October 7, 1862, he enlisted as a private in Capt. Owen Rice's Company A, 153rd Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteers. He saw service at Chancellorsville and Gettysburg and was honorably discharged on July 23, 1863.
He then found employment at his trade in Doylestown and on December 8, 1863, he came to Catasauqua and opened his store at 215 Front Street. He was elected burgess in 1870 and he later served as a member of the school board. He was a director of the National Bank of Catasauqua and with the founding of the Lehigh National Bank he was elected its first vice president on May 17, 1906. He was elevated to the presidency on June 29, 1908 and he held that office until his death.
James C. Beitel married Emma C. Koehler, daughter of Solomon and Mary Ann (Ehret) Koehler, on December 29, 1863. They were the parents of the following children: Mary Louise, married a Mr. Bender: Laura E., born 1868, died 1940; Gwennie, married Rev. J. W. Lazarus; Annie, married Dr. J. C. Longacre: Robert J., born 1878, died 1954; Otilla, born 1881, died 1954: and Mabel, married Charles Edwards. James C. Beitel died at his home, 213 Front Street, Catasauqua, on April 23, 1942 and his remains were interred at Fairview Cemetery. His wife, Emma Beitel, past away in 1933 and her remains were also interred at Fairview Cemetery.
George Bower was born at Lehighton, December 3, 1832; he was the son of Charles G. and Elizabeth (Wentz) Bower. He received his education in the public schools of Lehighton and the Binghamton College, of New York. When eighteen years of age he commenced to teach in the public schools. He taught at the following places: Mosserville, Saegersville, Schnecksville and Weissport. In 1858, he discontinued his teaching career and he then became engaged in the meat business at Catasauqua.
George Bower was elected Chief Burgess of Catasauqua in 1875, and he also served nine years on the councilmanic board and three years as school director. In the fall of 1880, he was elected Sheriff of Lehigh County by a majority of twenty-two hundred and forty-eight votes.
On the 9th of December, 1892, the Bower Slate and Pencil Quarry Company was incorporated, with George Bower serving as president and general manager. The quarry was located in Lynnport, fourteen miles west of Slatington.
At Lehighton, in 1851, Mr. Bower married Amelia D. Clauss, daughter of Daniel Clauss, of Fogelsville. This union was blessed with the following children: Charles D. W., born January 17, 1856, died October 1, 1941; George W., born March 27, 1859, died November 13. 1935; Emma, born January 7, 1861, married George W. Applegate, died April 9, 1949; Elmira, married B. B. Linn; Mamie, married J. D. Tillman, of New Jersey; Laura, born October 7, 1866, married T. M. Jenkins, died January 29, 1898; Frank S.; Anna, born May, 1870; and John M., born September, 1871. They also raised an orphan child, Elizabeth Bradley, who became the wife of C. D. W. Bower.
George Bower was a member of the Free and Accepted Masons and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He was a member of the English Evangelical Lutheran Church of the Holy Trinity, of Catasauqua. He also served for a time as the superintendent of its Sunday school.
George Bower departed this life on May 11, 1922 and his mortal remains were interred at. Fairview Cemetery. His wife, Amelia (Clauss) Bower past away on November 11, 1903 and her body was buried at Fairview Cemetery.
William H. Glace
William H. Glace, son of Samuel and Isabella (Swartz) Glace, was born February 12, 1839, on the farm of his grandfather, John Swartz, situated along the Lehigh River, one mile north of Catasauqua, near Dry Run. He came to Catasauqua with his parents in 1845. He received his education in the public schools of the vicinity, and in Wyoming Seminary, at Kingston, Pa.
During 1860, he went to Charleston, South Carolina, and secured employment as entry clerk in the wholesale house of Thayer Dewing & Company. Realizing that a conflict between the North and South was apparently imminent, Mr. Glace determined to return home while he could do so without embarrassment; and shortly afterward he enlisted as a sergeant in Co. F., 47th Penna. Volunteers.
Upon discharge from military service, he became the bookkeeper and paymaster of the Catasauqua and Fogelsville Railroad and he filled this position for two years. Then he studied law in the offices of John H. Oliver, Esq., at Allentown and he was admitted to the Bar on April 13, 1868. He served as Justice of the Peace from 1870 to 1875, and he also served as Borough Solicitor for seven years and as School Solicitor for three years. William H. Glace was elected Burgess of Catasauqua and he officiated for the year 1876. In 1906, Mr. Glace helped organize the Lehigh National Bank and he served as its first president for two years.
William H. Glace married Mary Jennie Stark on September 24, 1874. Her death occurred on October 8, 1910, and her remains were interred at Fairview Cemetery. On August 11, 1915, Mr. Glace married Anna Moser, daughter of William H. and Catharina (Wertz) Moser. William H. Glace past away on June 12, 1929, and his body was buried at Fairview Cemetery. Anna (Moser) Glace past away on February 3,1945, and her remains were also interred at Fairview Cemetery.
Thomas Jones was born at Merthyr Tydvil, South Wales, on April 26, 1838. He was the son of John and Rachel Jones who emigrated to America in 1842, and located at Minersville, Schuylkill County, Pennsylvania. On account of hip-disease he was unable to attend the public schools. At the age of twelve both his parents past away and he then made his home with friends and supported himself by picking slate in the coal breaker.
In 1852, he came to Catasauqua and was employed by the Crane Iron Works as the carrier of the mails to and from the Allentown post office. After the opening of the Lehigh Valley Railroad, when mail trains brought deliveries to town, he then drove a mule cart to haul ore from the canal to the furnaces. Through study and observation he soon qualified himself as an engineer and a machinist. In 1861, he graduated from Eastman's Business College at Allentown. Thomas Jones became chief engineer at the furnaces for eight years, and master mechanic of the Catasauqua and Fogelsville Railroad for twenty-five years. He also was superintendent of the Catasauqua Gas Company for five years and he also served the company as secretary, treasurer and general manager over the years.
Thomas Jones served as Chief Burgess of Catasauqua 1890 thru 1892, and he also served three terms as a member of the town council. He also served as Justice of the Peace from 18% to 1906, and he was also a member of the Phoenix Fire Company, which he served eight years as president. Thomas Jones was a member of the First Presbyterian Church, where he sang on the choir for many years. He was also a member of the I.O.O.F.
Thomas Jones married Sarah Morgan, a native of Wales, in January, 1865 and this union was blessed with four children: John Lewellyn; W. Lincoln, born 1869, died 1897; Miriam L., married George Brown, removed to Elizabeth, New Jersey: and a child that died in infancy.
Thomas Jones past away, at his home at 435 Bridge Street, on February 23, 1920 and his remains were interred at Fairview Cemetery. His wife, Sarah (Morgan) Jones died in Elizabeth, New Jersey, on April 12, 1923 and her remains were also buried at Fairview Cemetery.
Charles Robert Horn
Charles S. Horn, son of Melchoir Hay Horn and Matilda Louise Heller, was born in Catasauqua on October 13, 1863. He attended the public schools of the borough, graduating in 1879. On August 1, 1879, he became identified with the National Bank of Catasauqua as a clerk. In March 1890, he was elected Cashier and he served in that position until 1899. He also served as a direct of the bank for several years. Charles R. Horn was elected Burgess of Catasauqua in 1894 and he served as such thru 1896. During 1898, he connected himself with the Davies and Thomas Company and he served as a director and general agent.
Charles R. Horn was a member of Porter Lodge No. 284, Free and Accepted Masons, of Catasauqua and the Catasauqua Lodge No. 269, I.O.O.F. He was also a member of the Phoenix Fire Company and he served as president for several years. In politics he sided with the Democratic Party and he and his family were members of the Lutheran faith.
Charles R. Horn married Blanche Thomas, daughter of James and Mary Ann (Davies) Thomas, on June 23, 1886.
They were the parents of the following children; Isabella Traill, born 1887, died 1946; Mary, born 1888, died in infancy; Catherine Richards, born 1890, died 1948; James Thomas, born 1892; Blanche, born May 13, 1894, died June 1, 1904; and Helen, born 1896, married A. Newton Bugbee, died 1946.
Charles R. Horn died in 1921 and his body was interred at Fairview Cemetery. Blanche (Thomas) Horn past away in 1952 and her remains were also interred at Fairview Cemetery.
Charles Daniel Webster Bower
Charles O. W. Bower was born at Lehighton, January 17, 1856, he was the son of George and Amelia (Clauss) Bower. In 1858, he moved to Catasauqua with his parents and he received his education in the public schools of the borough, graduating from high school in 1873. He learned the butcher trade from his father, taking over the business in 1878. He was the first butcher in Catasauqua to open a meat market at 129 Bridge Street during the year of 1887; at that time all meat was delivered by wagons from the slaughterhouse. Three years later he established another market at 209 Front Street. On August 2, 1893, his slaughterhouse, located on the corner of Canal and Mulberry Streets, burned down, but it was rebuilt immediately on the same site. C. D. W. Bower also served as a director of the Bower Slate and Pencil Quarry Company.
Charles D. W. Bower was elected Chief Burgess of Catasauqua and he served as such from 1897 thru 1899. He was a member of the borough council for several years. Politically he was a Democrat and in religious belief he was identified with the Evangelical Lutheran Church of the Holy Trinity of Catasauqua. He was also a member of the Porter Lodge No. 284, F. & A. M. and the Phoenix Fire Company.
At Catasauqua, September 30, 1885, occurred the marriage of Mr. Bower to Miss Elizabeth Bradley, who was born in Scotland but reared in the family of George Bower. The following children were born to this union: Charles Alexander, born October 9, 1886, died November 7, 1907; Helen A., who died at the age of one year; Leonard G.; and Ruth E.
With the death of Elizabeth Bower, C. D. W. Bower was married, for a second time, in 1900, to Annie Louise Peters, daughter of Richard Peters. This marriage was blessed with the following children: Paul G., removed to California; Richard P., born October 13, 1903, died August 20, 1988; Marie, born October 13, 1903, married a Mr. Gaffney; Harold W., born October 29, 1904, died April 24 1943; James; and Eleanor, married Paul J. Stauffer.
Charles D. W. Bower past away on October 1, 1941 ad his body was buried at Fairview Cemetery. Annie (Peters) Bower died March 26, 1957 and her remains were interred at Fairview Cemetery.
Rufus Monroe Wint
Rufus M. Wint, son of Ferdinand Wilhelm and Susanna (Kidd) Wint, was born July 27, 1856 on the farm of his grandfather, Wilhelm Wint, in Hanover Township. He came to Catasauqua in 1866, with his parents. As a young man he traveled to Michigan, where he worked as a lumberjack. Upon returning to Catasauqua he became employed at the F. W. Wint Co. lumberyard and following the death of his father in 1882, he became a member of the firm. With the death of his uncle, James P. Wint, in 1905, he was elevated to president of the company. Rufus M. Wint served as a member of the borough council and from 1900 thru 1902 he served as Chief Burgess of Catasauqua. He was one of the founders of the Lehigh National Bank, in 1906, and he served on the board of directors. In 1908, he was elected vice-president of the bank and he served as such until his death.
Rufus H. Wint married Hortense E. Kopp, daughter of George and Mary Josephine (Schneider) Kopp. This union was blessed with the following children: Rufus William George, born January 30, 1884, died February 27, 1948; Josephine Susanna, born August 24, 1885, died April 12, 1886; Charles James, born November 13, 1886, died March 12, 1936; and Ernest H., born January 2, 1889, died February 15, 1889.
Rufus H. Wint was a member of St. Paul's Lutheran Church. He was a charter member of the Washington Camp, No. 301, P.0.S.of A.: Phoenix Fire Company and the Free and Accepted Masons. He was also a member of Allentown Aerie, No. 110, Fraternal Order of Eagles. He served as the president of the board of governors and was one of the founders of the Eagle's Building and Loan Association. In politics he was a member of the Republican Party.
Hortense (Kopp) Wint died on March 11, 1890 and her remains were interred at Fairview Cemetery. Rufus H. Wint married a second time to Mary Klotz, daughter of Phaon and Susan (Siegfried) Klotz. Rufus H. Wint past away at his home, No. 740 Front Street, on October 20, 1929. His body was laid to rest at Fairview Cemetery. Mary (Klotz) Wint died in Sacred Heart Hospital, on July 7, 1950 and her remains were interred at Fairview Cemetery.
Henry W. Stolz
Henry W. Stolz, son of Andrew and Magdalene (Brandt) Stolz, was born at Fullertown, December 13, 1856. In 1880, Henry W. Stolz entered the employ of the Davies and Thomas Company and remained in the service of that concern until his retirement. For many years he was superintendent of the large foundries connected with that plant. He served the Iron Borough as a councilman and president of the town council and he was elected Chief Burgess of Catasauqua and served as such from 1903 thru 1905.
Mr. Stolz was married twice and his first wife was Amelia Louise Sieg, daughter of Conrad and Elizabeth Sieg, and this union was blessed with the following children: Charles, born November 22, 1880, died March 5, 1921; Roland C., born 1883, died 1948; Irene, born September, 1887, married a Mr. Haas; Samuel E., born April 29, 1890, died February 5, 1927; Henry A., born December, 1892, died 1954; John A., born September, 1895; James Wesley, born June 25, 1898, died January 25, 1985; and three children that died in infancy. Amelia Louise (Sieg) Stolz past away or August 11, 1901 and her remains were interred at Fairview Cemetery. Henry W. Stolz was married a second time to Mina Jones, daughter of William and Elizabeth (Stableford) Jones. Mina (Jones) Stolz died on October 19, 1934 and her remains were buried at Fairview Cemetery.
Henry W. Stolz was a member of St. Paul's Lutheran Church and fraternally was affiliated with Porter Lodge F. and A. M. and Catasauqua Lodge, No. 269 and Fraternity Encampment, No. 156, I.O.O.F. Henry W. Stolz past away at his home, No. 119 Union Street, on October 7, 1936 and his remains were interred at Fairview Cemetery.
Charles J. Keim. M.D.
Charles J. Keim was born near Bethlehem, in Northampton County, on March 19, 1843. He was the son of Leopold and Mary (Stahr) Keim. He received his early education at the Moravian Parochial School at Bethlehem, the Wyoming Academy and John Lesher's preparatory school at Easton. He then entered upon a clerkship in a store at Butztown from where he came to Allentown. In 1862 he enlisted in Bethlehem, Company F., Fifth Pennsylvania Home Guards. Upon being mustered out of service, he engaged in the mercantile business at Eight and Hamilton Streets, Allentown. Having had a desire to become a physician, he sold out his establishment, and began the reading of medicine with Dr. Molton E. Hornbeck, of Catasauqua. In the fall or 1873, he entered the Medical Department of the University of Pennsylvania from which he graduated March 12, 1875. Upon graduation he located in Catasauqua and practiced medicine for a period of thirty years, retiring from active practice in 1905. In 1882 he completed his beautiful residence at 742 Front Street, where his office was also located. He served as a member of the school board for three years, being elected in 1878. He was a member of the borough council for three terms and served as its president for several years. He was elected Chief Burgess of Catasauqua and he served as such from 1906 thru 1908 and he was re-elected and served from 1914 until his death. He was a Democrat in politics. He was a member of the Lehigh Valley Medical Society, and the State and American Medical Associations. In religion he was a consistent member of Trinity Lutheran Church of Catasauqua.
On December 15. 1863, Charles J. Keim and Eliza C. Seider, daughter of Edward and Abigail (Rahn) Seider, were united in marriage. To this union were born two children: Edward I., who died when three and one-half years old; and Harry J. S., born September 20, 1871, a graduate of the Medico-Chirurgial College of Philadelphia, died 1968. Eliza (Seider) Keim past away on October 29, 1930 and her remains were buried at Fairview Cemetery. Dr. Charles J. Keim past away on March 18, 1917 and his remains were interred at Fairview Cemetery.
Henry Harrison Riegel M.D.
Henry H. Riegel, son of Daniel and Hannah (Weaver) Riegel, was born in Allentown, Pennsylvania, November 12, 1836. He attended the Moravian school at Nazareth Hall and at the age of eighteen he began the study of medicine at Bath, under the tutelage of Dr. W. E. Barnes. In the fall of 1855, he entered the medical department of the University of Pennsylvania where he continued for one term. Returning to Bath, he spent the summer of 1856 in the offices of Dr. Barnes, and in the fall entered Jefferson Medical College, at Philadelphia, from which he graduated in 1857. Dr. Henry H. Riegel opened an office at Cherryville, May 5, 1857, where he continued until 1861. He then spent a year in practice at Saegerstown, Crawford County, Pennsylvania, after which he settled in Weaversville, in March, 1862. In the fall of 1868, he came to Catasauqua and opened an office and during 1869, he located his practice at No. 27 Front Street. He became a director of the National Bank of Catasauqua and he also served as its vice-president. He also participated in the organization of the National Bank of Slatington in 1875. He served three terms as school director, and was President of the Board during the time the Lincoln Building was erected. He was elected Chief Burgess of Catasauqua, serving from 1909 thru 1913. He was a member of Grace Methodist Episcopal Church and in politics he was a Republican. He was also a member of the Masonic Fraternity.
Dr. Henry H. Riegel married Ellen Gish, daughter of Abraham and Elizabeth (Hummel) Gish, at Cherryville, on July 3, 1858. Four children blessed this union: Clifford H., born June 6, 1859, died July 2, 1938; Emma L., born May, 1861, married Sylvester B. Harte, died 1957; Dr. William A., born May 17, 1867, died 1937; and Mattie C., married Thomas N. Keen. Ellen (Gish) Riegel past away on June 24, 1895 and her remains were interred at Fairview Cemetery. Dr. Henry H. Riegel departed this life on November 25, 1915 and his remains were interred at Fairview Cemetery.
Charles J. Keim, Chief Burgess
Francis G. Lewis, Solicito
Louis J. H. Grossart, Enginee
Daniel Gillespie, Overseer Water Dept
William McNabb, Receiver of Taxes
James H. Harte, Street Commissioner
Henry Zeaser, Fire Marshal
Charles E. Scheckler, Chief of Police
Andrew Smith, Patrolman
Alvin Roth, Patrolman
Rufus W. G. Wint, President
Reuben C. Weaver, Secretary
Ralph C. Boyer, Treasurer
Charles D. W. Bower Harry B. Smith
Samuel P. Gemmel Harvey W. Snyder
Joseph M. Kane Robert Steinmetz
Samuel Mitchell Howard V. Swartz
Oscar H. Schugar William H. Wentz
BOROUGH'S OLDEST NATIVE-BORN HOME-COMER
Mrs. Susanna Swartz, of Allentown, was the oldest home-comer to participate in the Old Home Week celebration. During her visit she was the guest of Miss Emma E. Schneller, of Third Street, Born in 1827, in what was then known as Biery's Port, she was the daughter of John and Susanna (Rabert) Peter. John Peter came to Biery's Port from Heidelberg Township in 1823 and settled on a farm which was located between Church and Spring Streets and the Canal and Howertown Road.
Susanna Peter married Owen Swartz, son of John Swartz, and they were blessed with the following children: Eleanor, Edwin V., John, James, Samuel, Laura, Sarah, Albert E., Charles, Minnie, Benton and Owen S. Owen Swartz was born was born February 24, 1823, on his father's farm located north of Catasauqua at the mouth of Dry Run. He purchased a tract of land located at Front and Spring Streets from John Peter on October 9, 1850. During 1853, he leased the land to John Stoddard, of White Haven, who started a lumber yard. Mr. Stoddard then hired Owen Swartz to act as his agent to sell the lumber. Shortly before the Civil War John Stoddard sold the business to Owen Swartz and he operated the business until 1863 when he took as a partner Captain Horatio D. Yeager. The business then traded under the name of Swartz and Yeager. On March 26, 1866, Ferdinand W. Wint purchased a share of the business and the name of the firm was then changed to Swartz, Yeager and Wint. Owen Swartz sold his shares of the company to his partners on January 1, 1867 and he and his wife retired to Allentown, residing at No. 519 North Ninth Street.
The Swartz family were active members of the Evangelical church, first at Catasauqua and later at Allentown. Owen Swartz departed this life on November 17, 1876 and his wife, Susanna Swartz, remained in the old homestead in Allentown and was taken care of by her daughter, Minnie.
BOROUGH'S OLDEST NATIVE-BORN RESIDENT
Mrs. Ellen Caroline Gilbert was the oldest native born resident of the borough at the time of her death, June 12, 1914, two weeks prior to the Old Home Week celebration. She was the daughter of Daniel and Catherine (Hartzell) Tombler and she was born at Biery's Port on January 25, 1831. Her father, Daniel Tombler was born April 17, 1796, at Hope, New Jersey and he moved to Biery's Port in 1821, where he found employment at the old grist mill, owned by Frederick Biery. He also served as toll collector at the Biery Bridge for twenty years. During the re-erection of the bridge, destroyed by the freshet of 1841, Daniel Tombler was severely injured. His death from the injuries occurred on November 11, 1841 and his remains were interred at Schoenersville Cemetery.
Ellen Caroline Tombler was married to Captain Edwin Gilbert on February 6, 1855, by Rev. Eberhard. This union was blessed with the following children: Rebecca, born January 31, 1856, married Nathan A. Bartholomew, died April 29, 1914; David W. born September, 1857; Alice C., born September 25, 1859, married Sylvester Minnich, died March 23, 1932; Edwin D., born 1861; Franklin P. Sheridan, born December 18, 1866, died November 9, 1910; Eugene Grant, born December 27, 1868, died August 10, 1870; Euphemia, married William Ritter; Ellen C., born 1872, died 1953; and an unknown child who died in infancy. Captain Edwin Gilbert died on January 2, 1894 and his remains were interred at Fairview Cemetery. Ellen Caroline (Tornbler) Gilbert was also buried in the Gilbert family plot at Fairview Cemetery.
With the death of Mrs. Gilbert the honor of being the borough's oldest native-born resident fell upon Joseph Henry Schwab. He was the son of Solomon and Sarah Schwab, and he was born June 9, 1838, in what was then known as Biery's Port. He was employed by the Lehigh Car Wheel and Axle Company and he was a moulder by trade. Joseph H. Schwab enlisted in Company I., 47th Pennsylvania Volunteers, under the command of Captain Henry S. Harte, in 1861. He served during th'e entire war, seeing much hard service. He was a member of Fuller Post, G. A. R. Catasauqua, until that organization disbanded because of the dwindling number of veterans. He enjoyed for many years the distinction of being the oldest survivor of the Civil War living in the borough.
Joseph H. Schwab married Marietta Young, daughter of Reuben and Julia Young, and this union was blessed with the following children: Cora, wife of William Heckenberger; Reuben S.; Mamie, wife of George Davies; and Belinda, wife of William Morrison. Marietta (Young) Schwab was accidentally shot and killed at her home, No. 319 Walnut Street, by a nineteen year old neighbor. Her death occurred on February 28, 1914 and her remains were interred at Fairview Cemetery. Joseph H. Schwab past away on March 13, 1929, at the home of his daughter, Mrs. William Morrison, of Philadelphia, where he was spending the winter. His remains were brought home and they were buried at Fairview Cemetery.
HOME-COMER FROM THE GREATEST DISTANCE
James Forrest travelec from Australia to return home for the celebration. He held the honor of coming the greatest distance, traveling more than halfway around the earth, for the love he held for his old town. Mr. Forrest was a guest of David Gillespie during his stay.
BETROTHAL and NUPTIAL
The engagement of Miss Mary Leikel, daughter of John Henry and Mary Ann (Gillespie) Leikel, and Curtin H. Reinhard, son of Henry J. and Lizzie H. (Hummel) Reinhard, was announced at the reunion of the Catasauqua Alumni Association, on Tuesday night, June 30, 1914. Mr. Reinhard was living in Hartford, Conn., coming home for the celebration. Miss Leikel was a teacher in the public schools of Catasauqua.
The marriage of Miss Catherine O'Neill to Edward F. Farrell took place Thursday, July 2, 1914, at 9:00 A.M. in St. Lawrence Catholic Church. A nuptial high mass, sung by the rector, Rev. Henry I. Conner,was witnessed by several hundred invited guests and friends. Miss Agnes Cunningham presided at the organ. Miss Annie Farrell, a sister of the bridegroom, was the bridesmaid and Charles Flannery, of Wilkes-Barre, cousin of the bridegroom, served as best man.
The bride was the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John O'Neill, Chestnut Street, where a reception was held after the wedding. The bridegroom was the son of Mr. and Mrs. Anthony Farrell, of Catasauqua, and he was employed as a brass polisher at the Dent Hardware Works, Fullerton.
The newlyweds went on a wedding tour to Buffalo and Niagara Falls and upon their return they set up housekeeping at Catasauqua. This marriage produced two sons, Edward F. "Scrapper" Farrell and Charles A. "Bipper" Farrell.
A register was placed at the old Home Week Headquarters, No. 411 Front Street. Home-corners were urged to register and state their present address and where they were staying so that old friends might know were to find them. The Allentown Morning Call printed the registrations at no cost in order to bring friends and relatives together.
Miss Hattie ARTHUR, of Philadelphia, spent the week at the home of her parents, Mr. and Mrs. Richard Arthur, Church Street.
Mr. and Mrs. Edward McCLOSKEY and daughter, Marie, of White Stone Landing, L. I., were guests of Mrs. McCloskey's mother, Mrs. Mina Kimball, Union Street.
Curtin REINHARD, of Hartford, Conn., spent the week with his parents, Professor and Mrs. Reinhard. Mrs. J. C. GRIGGS and children, of Somerville, N. 3., were also guests at the Reinhard home.
John LEIKEL, of Rochester, N. V., was home for the week with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Henry Leikel, Mulberry Street.
Mrs. George BOWER and children, of Big Run, Pa., were guests of the former's parents, Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Applegate, Bridge Street.
Mrs. William JAMES and daughter, Julia, of Buffalo, were guests of the former's sisters, Misses Williams, Second and Bridge Streets. George WILLIAMS, of Dayton, Ohio was a guest at he same home.
Mrs. William MILLER, of Philadelphia, was the guest or the First Presbyterian Church parsonage.
Mr. and Mrs. Willard DAVIS and son, Willard, of Philadelphia, and Mr. and Mrs. Charles DAVIS and children, of Munhall, Pa., were the guests for the week at the David Davis homestead.
Mrs. James WILSON and daughter, Margaret, of Philadelphia, spent the week with Misses Torrance, Bridge Street.
Mr. and Mrs. Edward BOYER, of Germantown, were guests at the home of the latter's parents, Mr. and Mrs. John Evans, Second Street.
Miss Iva HAFF, of Hudson, N.Y., spent the week as the guest of Dr. William P. Riegel and family.
Mr. and Mrs. Harry BROWN and daughter, Miriam, of Elizabeth, N. 3., were the guests at the latter's parents, ex-Burgess and Mrs. Thomas Jones.
Mrs. Walter L. WATSON and daughters, Candace, Margaret and Gertrude, were the guests at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Harry J. Seaman.
William HOPKINS, of Youngstown, Ohio, visited his daughter, Mrs. Guy Reinbold, Church Street.
Lewis KREIDLER, of Philadelphia, spent the week with Mr. and Mrs. Frank Mauser, Race Street.
Frank TAIT and family, who motored from Dayton, Ohio, were the guests of Mrs. Tait's mother, Mrs. William Lewis, Pine Street.
Christopher BODDEN, of Cleveland, Ohio, was a guest for the week at the home of Mr. and Mrs. William Ernest, 1308 Third Street.
Mr. and Mrs. Ray HEILMAN, of Philadelphia, were quests of the former's mother, Mrs. Lewis Heilman, Fourth Street.
John QUIGG and family, James QUIGG and family and Mrs. Hannah KOHLER, of Scranton, were guests at the Kane home.
Mr. and Mrs. Michael COONEY, of Philadelphia, visited at the home of Mr. and Mrs. A. R. Zellers, Front Street.
Mrs. Steadman BEERS, of Brooklyn, N. Y., was the guest of her parents, Mr. and Mrs. William McCandless, Church Street.
Miss Martha DOWNS, of Wharton, N. J., and Miss Miriam WERNER, of Bangor, Pa., were guests at the hone of Mrs. John Downs and family, Peach and American Streets.
Mrs. John P. THOMAS, of Lancasford, Pa.; John T. THOMAS, Summitt Hill, and Miss Sarah THOMAS, of Flemington, N. J., were the guests at the home of Professor Alfred C. Lewis.
Misses Dessie and Grace JONES and Sharp CRAIG, of Shippensburg, Pa., were guests of Mrs. Robert Tolan and family, Pine Street.
Mrs. Walter STAPLEFORD and children and Mrs. C. W. STAPLEFORD, of Philadelphia, were guests at the home of Mr. and Mrs. John Faulkner, Walnut Street.
Mr. and Mrs. Robert DOWD, son, Richard and daughter, Isabel, of Wilmington, Del., and Miss Margaret FOX, of Germantown, spent the week as guests of Mr. and Mrs. William Tolan and family, 37 Second Street.
Mr. and Mrs. William Dyatt and son, Hermany, of Philadelphia, were guests at the home of his mother, Mrs. Margaret Dyatt, Second Street.
Mrs. John CRAIG, of Philadelphia, visited relatives about town.
Mr. and Mrs. Edward MINNICH, of Wilkes-Barre, were here for the week.
William BRENNAN, of New York City; Fred SOLTER, of Douglasville. Pa., and Florence BROWN, of Pottsville, were visitors with relatives about town.
William R. ALBRIGHT, of Newark N. J., was a guest at the home of John Albright, 114 Race Street.
Mr. and Mrs. Robert BRIERLY, of Philadelphia, were guests of Chief of Police Sheckler, Mrs. Brierly being a sister and having been born at Catasauqua.
Stephen McNAL,L,Y, of Pittsburgh, was a guest of P. J. McNally, on the west side.
James McNALLY, of Trenton N. J., spent the week with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. J. McNally, 314 Mulberry Street.
Mr. and Mrs. Robert GILLESPIE and children of Summitt Hill, spent the week with his parents, James Gillespie, Church Street.
Miss Margaret CRAWFORD, Fred and Lewis CRAWFORD, of Summitt Hill, spent the week with Mr. and Mrs. John J. Williams, Second Street.
William DAVIS, of Pittsburgh, spent the week with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Davis, Third Street.
Mrs. Annie FRENCH and son, of Philadelphia, spent the week with friends.
Samuel DAVIS and family, of Dover N. J., spent the week with Misses Mary and Hannah Davis, Bridge Street.
Mr. and Mrs. Peter FRITZPATRICK and daughter, of Philadelphia, were guests of Patrick J. McNally, on the West side.
Professor F. W. BEVAN, principal of the public schools of Catasauqua from 1882 to 1899, was the guest of Dr. Daniel Yoder. He participated in the Alumni Association reunion and the education day parade.
Harry FULLER, of Jersey Shore, Pa., boarded at the Eagle Hotel.
Mr. and Mrs. Sherman BLOSE, of Chicago, were registered at the Eagle Hotel.
Miss Elizabeth COLE, of Philadelphia, was a guest at the home of Mr. and Mrs. James Sharkey, Fourth Street.
Mr. and Mrs. Edward J. BARRY and Mrs. Minnie Elliot BARRY, of New York City, were guests of Catasauqua relatives.
Miss Allie HOPPER, of Easton, was a guest of her friend, Miss Mame Swartz, Walnut Street.
Mr. and Mrs. C. G. GILBERT, of Jersey City; Mr. and Mrs. W. E. WILLIAMS, of East Mauch Chunk, and Miss Adeline SHECKLER, of Wilkes-Barre, were guests at the home of Miss Emma Schneller, Bridge Street.
A. H. Kerkimer HOLTON, of Des Moines, Iowa, was a guest at No. 313 Front Street.
Mrs. Con. KEEFE, of Belvidere, Ill., visited Catasauqua friends, while staying at. No. 33 North Second Street, Allentown.
Erunes V. KID, of Perth Amboy, N. J., visited after an absence of thirty-five years.
Miss Ida V. SCHRIMP, of Sayre, Pa, spent the week with relatives about town.
Mr. and Mrs. William H. CAMPBELL and daughters, Marian and Ruth, of Camden, N. J., visited Catasauqua relatives.
Anna S. BELLEM, of Philadelphia, was the guest at No. 608 Pine Street.
William C. DORMAN, Edgar D. HOPLER and James J. STEYKER, of Wharton, N. J., were guests at the home of William Loughbridge. Pine Street.
Mr. and Mrs. C. Raymond WAHA and daughters, of Erie, visited friends about town.
Mr. and Mrs. James C. McHENRY and son, Earl, of London, Ont., spent the week with Mr. and Mrs. William Piper, Second Street.
Frank SCOTT, of Detroit, Mich., spent the week with Frank Scott Sr., Walnut Street.
Maria SPANGLER, of Avon, Pa., was a guest of her friend, Miss R. M. Caldwell.
Mae CALDWELL, of Philadelphia; Mrs. Samuel Arthurs and Benjamin Arthurs, of Lansford, Pa., were guests at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Cadwell, Howertown Road and Wood Street.
Miss Florence ZIESER, of Phoenixville, was the guest at the home of H. Zeaser, Walnut Street.
Miss Mabel ZIESER, of Phoenixville, was the guest at the Koch home, Howertown Road.
Mr. and Mrs. L. F. CHAPMAN, of New York, were the guests at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Edwin Chapman, Fourth Street.
Dr. Russell B. LYNN, of Elmira, N. Y.; Mr. and Mrs. John NICE and daughter, of Milford, N. J., and Mr. and Mrs. John O. TIULMAN, of Raritan, N. J., were guests at the home of Mr. and Mrs. George Applegate, Bridge Street.
Mr. and Mrs. John CLUGSTON, of Philadelphia, were guests at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Harry H. Aubrey, Walnut Street.
Miss Peggy ARTHUR, of Philadelphia, spent the holiday week with Mr. and Mrs. Roy Arthur.
Mr. and Mrs. Leer SCHIFREEN and family, of Tioga. Pa., Daniel TAYLOR and Miss Gillian TAYLOR, of Philadelphia were guests at the home of Morris Schifreen.
Martha THOMPSON, of New York, was a guest at No. 537 Walnut Street.
George E. KRAMLICH, of Galveston, Texas, was a guest at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Stein, Bridge Street.
Mrs. Benjamin BLYNN, of Elmira, N. 1., stayed with Mr. and Mrs. George Applegate, Bridge Street.
Mr. and Mrs. Edward STETTER, of Royersford, Pa., were guests at the home of Andrew Scheicher, Walnut Street.
Othello SANDBROOK, superintendent of the Piedmont Silk Mills, at Chambersburg, was an old home week visitor, staying with his mother, on upper Front Street.
Robert L. FULTON, of the United States lighthouse service, stationed at Fort Wadsworth, Station Island, visited his brother, William Fulton, on the West side.
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas H. KANE and family, of Perth Amboy, N. J., were guests of the former's parents at Hokendauqua during the week.
Robert FULTON, of Philadelphia, was a guest at the home of William Abernathy, at Hokendauqua, during the week.
Mr. and Mrs. Robert CLUGSTON, of Philadelphia, were guests at the home of Mr. and Mrs. William Pipe, Second Street.
Miss Annie JOHN, of Philadelphia, visited her mother, Mrs. Andrew John, Second Street.
Margaret BUCHANAN, of Duffryn Mawr, Pa., was a guest at No. 725 Front Street.
Mrs. Theodore HACKETT and Lloyd HOMER, of Philadelphia, were guests at No. 725 Third Street.
Charles W. LEFLER, of Indianapolis, Ind., visited relatives about town, spending the week at No. 40 South Tenth Street, Allentown.
Rev. Dr. Albert J. WEISLEY, of Scranton, was a guest at the home of his brother, William L. Weisley, Front Street.
Mrs. Ellen WESTER, Mrs. David ROBERTS and Mrs. George GRINER, of Philadelphia, were guests of Mr. and Mrs. J. T. McKeever, Front Street.
Mr. and Mrs. Harry FURLOW and daughter, Jane, of Frankford, Pa., were guests at the home of Mrs. Frank H. Wilson, 218 Liberty Street.
Mr. and Mrs. George MORROW, of Philadelphia, and Mrs. George KURTZ, of Bethlehem, were guests of Mr. and Mrs. Owen Koch, Walnut Street.
Mrs. George MISCH, of Willow Grove, visited at 23 First Avenue, West Catasauqua.
Mrs. Percy FRITTS, and daughter, Edith, of Phillipsburg, were guests at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Hoch, No. 344 Race Street.
John R. OSMAN and Marguerite OSMAN, of Harrisburg, were guests of Mr. and Mrs. A. Schneider, 218 Pine Street.
Miss Helen S. SPENCE, of Forty Fort, was a guest of Mr. and Mrs. A. Schneider.
Mrs. Mary BERG and children, Frances and Rudolph; and William Von BLOMBERG, of New York City, were guests at the home of Mrs. Von Blomberg, No. 717 Church Street.
B. J. TRUMBULL, formerly chief clerk for D. G. Dory, spent the week with friends about town.
Mrs. Samuel MILLER, of Allentown; Mrs. John WALTERS and daughter, Marie, of Lynn, Mass., and Mrs. Howard WOLF, of Kreidersville, spent the week under the parental roof at the home of Captain Joseph Matchette.
George W. DIEHL, of Lehighton, was a guest of C. Frank Hunsick.
Beatrice I. TAYLOR, of Philadelphia and Pauline FAGAN, of New York, were guests of Mr. and Mrs. Louis Schifreen.
Mr. and Mrs. S. S. DUFFY of Philadelphia, were registered at the Eagle Hotel.
Mrs. Eliza BIERY, familiarly known as "Granny" Biery, native of Catasauqua and who was born there eighty-two years before, was an Old Home Week visitor and greatly enjoyed herself. She resided in Catasauqua until twelve years before the celebration, when her husband died, since which time she resided with her son, Edward Biery, on Jordan Street, Allentown. She was married to Edward Biery at Catasauqua in 1854, and for forty-eight years resided near the Johnson Steel Works on the West side.
Rev. and Mrs. Daniel OVERTON, of Islip, L. I., were guests of Mrs. Margaret Emmanuel, Second Street.
Mr. and Mrs. Herbert CAMPBELL and daughter, Ethel, of Freemansburg, Pa., were guests of Mr. and Mrs. A.R. Zellers, Front Street.
Mr. and Mrs. George MOSS and daughter, Ethel, of Pittsburgh, were guests at the home of Mrs. John Stock, No. 1005 Railroad Street.
Mrs. William STOCK, of Brooklyn, N. Y., was an Old Home Week guest at the home of Mrs. John Stock.
T. L. JAMES, of Pawtucket, R. I., spent the week with Mr. and Mrs. A. H. Eckert, No. 1014 Fourth Street.
Arthur C. SCHOLL, of Philadelphia, spent the week with his aunt, Mrs. Ida Seyfried.
Miss Laura C. BEITEL, of Philadelphia, was home for the week with her parents, Mr. and Mrs. James C. Beitel.
Mrs. William MESSERSCHMIDT, of Philadelphia, spent the week with her parents, Mr. and Mrs. Charles Miller.
Daniel WILSON, of Manunka Chunk, was a guest at the Wilson home.
Burton HARTE, of Pittsburgh, spent the week with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. S. B. Harte.
Mr. and Mrs. William SCHOENEBERGER, of Palmerton, were guests at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Preston Lindaman.
Miss Edith BENJAMIN, of Hazelton, spent the week with Mr. and Mrs. Charles Kemp.
Mrs. Hannah STECKEL, oldest graduate of the Catasauqua schools, aged eighty-nine, spent the week with Mrs. H. Alice Stewart, Lower Second Street.
A. E. HOOK, of Milana, Ind., spent the week with Hr. and Mrs. William Hook, No. 203 Second Street.
Mr. and Mrs. George H. RITTER, of Reading, were guests at the home of Mr. and Mrs. W. F. Ritter, No. 1212 North Third Street.
D. D. RODERICK, of Slatington, visited at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Roderick, No. 723 Second Street.
Mr. and Mrs. Morris UHRICH, of Harrisburg, spent the week with relatives.
Mrs. Harry L. MOSER and Mrs. Harry GILBERT, of Bath, were guests of S. H. Hoch, No. 644 Race Street.
Rev, and Mrs. S. E. MOYER, of Perkasie, Pa., stayed at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Monroe Kurtz, Kurtz Street.
Miss Marian McCLEISTER, of Philadelphia, was home with her father John McCleister, Fourth Street.
Mrs. Stanley KNECHT and children, of Allentown, were guests of Mr. and Mrs. William Steele.
Mr. and Mrs. Charles BROBST, of Danville, Pa.; Mr. and Mrs. A. W. KLEY, of Phoenixville, Pa.; Miss Rugy T. CLADER, of Wilkes-Barre, and Miss Bessie CLADER, of Coplay, were guests at the home of Mr. and Mrs. F. J. Schleicher, Race Street.
Mrs. George A. GREEN, of Fishklll-on-the-Hudson, was an Old Home Week guest of Mr. and Mrs. Harry J. Seaman.
Mr. and Mrs. Robert S. RANDALL and son, Fred, of Newville, Pa., were guests at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Edmund Randall.
Mrs. Ida ROTH, Mrs. Nester TAYLOR and Kiss Millie HAEGELE, of Philadelphia, were guests at the home of Mrs. James Heffelfinger.
Misses Anna NAGLE and Rosa WERNER, of Bangor, were guests of Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Riegel.
Rev. and Mrs. D. P. LONGSDORF and son, of Kutztown, spent several days in town with friends, Rev. Longsdorf being a former pastor of Catasauqua.
Mrs. Amanda ERDMAN, of Richmond Hill, a graduate of Class '73 of the Catasauqua High School, visited Catasauqua friends, staying with relatives at Allentown.
Mrs. John O. WADE and daughters, of Orange, N. J., were guests of the former's mother, Mrs. Robert Williams, Third Street.
Sherman BLOSS, of Chicago: Ralph BLOSS, Harry BLOSS and Mrs. C. F. CHANDLER, of Philadelphia, were guests at the home of William Bloss, No. 331 Walnut Street.
Marshall LENNON, of Rochester, N. V., was home for the celebration with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. James Lennon, Second Street.
Mr. and Mrs. Samuel DAVIS Jr. and children: Robert DAVIS, Donald DAVIS and Marion DAVIS, of Parnassus, Pa., were guests of Daniel Davis, No. 605 Third Street.
Mrs. C. W. HERMAN and daughter, of Philadelphia, were guests at the home of W. R. Kise, No. 9 Union Street.
Charles and Frank O'DONNEL, of Hazelton, were guests of Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Smith, Third Street.
H. Dale THOMAS, of Globe, Ariz., a direct descendant of the original David Thomas, spent the week with his father, Edwin Thomas.
Rev. Dr. KOPLIN, of Hellertown, age 80 years, a former pastor of Salem Reformed Church, was the guest of Hon. and Mrs. Jonas F. Moyer.
Mr. and Mrs. Griffith R. LEWIS and Mr. and Mrs. L. G. CARLTON, of Cripple Creek, Col., and Mr. and Mrs. William LEWIS, of Muskegon, Mich., were guests of Mrs. Margaret Lewis and her daughters, Lydia and Ellen.
Mrs. James FLEMING, of College Hill, Easton, spent the week with her mother, Mrs. Codie Harbison, Bridge Street.
Dr. Robert QUIGG and daughter, Evelyn, of East Waterford, Conn., spent the week at the Quigg homestead on Bridge Street.
Mrs. George H. GRIFFITH, of Washington's Crossing, N. J., visited her mother Mrs. Ida Corwin, Walnut Street.
Rev. Charles F. FRY, D. D., of Philadelphia, spent Monday with fiends, but was unable to prolong his visit.
Mr. and Mrs. Ralph FAULKNER, of New York, spent the week with relatives.
Mr. and Mrs. F. S. GEERS, of Newark, N. J., were guests of John Albright, No. 114 Race Street.
Mrs. Frank WILSON, of Pemaquid, Maine, and Miss Dorothy A. KAY, of Roselle Park, N. J., were guests at the home of Mrs. James Matchette, Front Street, Hokendauqua.
Mrs. Matthew JOHNSON and children, of Philadelphia, were guests of Mrs. Charles Wieand, Howertown Road.
Miss Lorene SHOEMAKER, Miss F. Lucy KOONS, Mr. and Mrs. F. KETIER and daughter, Miss Margaret LACKEY, Kiss Emma SNYDER, Kr. and Mrs. C. KOONS and Hon. and Mrs. James L. SCHAADT, of Allentown, were guests of Mr. and Mrs. Oscar J. Stine, Bridge Street.
Miss Hermenia WEINGARTNER, of Bethlehem, was a guest at the home of S. McHose, Howertown Road.
Mrs. Frank E. TEITELBAUM, Mrs. N. V. MOROT and Marian K. ARMAND, of New York City, were registered at the Eagle Hotel.
Dr. and Mrs. W. B. ERDMAN, of Macungie, were holiday guests of Mr. and Mrs. H. B. Weaver.
Mr. and Mrs. George BROWN, of Elizabeth, N. J., and Mr. and Mrs. LEYSFION, of Camden, N. J., were guests of ex-Burgess Thomas A. Jones.
Mrs. Elizabeth DAVIDSON and Thomas DAVIDSON, of Pittsburgh, were guests at the home of Mr. and Mrs. James Morrow, Bridge Street.
Otto A. STOLZ and Otto P. HAUCH, of Meadville, Pa., were guests at the 'home of ex-Burgess Henry Stolz, Union Street.
Abner H. BUCK, of South Bethlehem, spent the week with Mrs. Henry H. Buck, Second Street.
Mrs. John GOODMAN, MR. and Mrs. Morris ULRICH, Philip J. ARNOLD and Winnie J. ARNOLD were guests at the home of Matthew Webber, leader of the Catasauqua Choral Society.
Miss Ruth SCHAEFER, of Lehighton, spent the week with her grandmother, Mrs. Eckert, Third Street.
William WILCOX Jr., of Walden, N. Y., was a guest at the home of Charles Lawall, Kurtz Street.
Mr. and Mrs. Oscar BACHMAN, of Philadelphia, and Miss Sadie JACKS, of Coopersburg, were guests at the home of Mr. and Mrs. John Sacks, Front Street.
Mr. and Mrs. J. Ruskin JONES and children, and Mrs. Charles H. EDWARDS, of Allentown, were the guests of Mr. and Mrs. James C. Beitel.
Samuel DAVIS, of Dover, N. J., spent the week at No. 211 Bridge Street.
The Misses CREVELING, daughters of Mrs. Adeline Creveling, for many years postmistress at Catasauqua, who were residing at Hackettstown, N. J., were holiday visitors.
Miss Margaret LUDRIGAN, of Lebanon, was an Old Home Week guest of Mr. and Mrs. Harry Inn, North Second Street.
Mrs. Mary McINTYRE, of New York, spent the week with her parents, Mr. and Mrs. Michael Field, Front Street.
Mr. and Mrs. A: M. LAMBERT, of Centre Valley, parents of Rev. James F. Lambert; Miss Rebecca GREENBURG, of Meyerstown, Pa.; Kiss Anna May DOWNHAN, of Dover, N. J., and Frank H. BOCK, of New Ringgold, Pa., were guests at the St. Paul's Lutheran Church parsonage.
Martin FENNER, a student of law at Tennessee University, spent the week with his sister, Mrs. Hiram Woodring, of the West side.
Mrs. William WARMKESSEL, and children, of Palmerton, visited the former's parents, Robert Lee, Mulberry Street.
Mr. and Mrs. William DONKEL and their twins, spent the week with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. William Donkel, Howertown Road.
Mrs. Levi EVERHART and her daughter, Mrs. Emma GREENE, of Chicago, visited Catasauqua during the celebration.
William HOPKINS, of Youngstown, Ohio, visited his daughter, Mrs. Guy Reinbold, Church Street.
William McCAFFERTY, of Phoenlxville, spent several days with friends about town.
Rev, and Mrs. John BOOTH and daughter, Gertrude, of South Dakota, visited the family of Frank Decroot, Walnut Street.
Master D. S. HARBISON, of Chicago, was here for the holiday week as a guest at the Quigg residence, Third and Bridge Streets.
A. E. SWARTZ, Minerva SWARTZ, Mrs. Ellen GROSS and Albert E. SWARTZ Jr., of Allentown, held a reunion at the home of Emma Schneller, Third Street.
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas SNYDER and son, of New Jersey, were guests at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Charles Delabore, Mulberry Street.
Miss Hattie THOMPSON, of White Stone Landing, L. I., was a guest at the home of Samuel McCloskey.
Mrs. George BLAKE, nee McLoughlln, and Sons Robert and Charles were guests at the borne of Mr. and Mrs. James McCandless, 219 Church Street.
Jacob FREY and son, Harvey, of Franklin Springs, were guests at the home of James McCandless.
Mr. and Mrs. Farquhar H. FRAZER, of Morris Plains, were guests at the home of Mr. and Mrs. William T. Scanlin.
Mrs. Harry PERSON and daughter, Beulah, and the former's grandmother, Charlotte LOMPEY, aged 80 years, of Phillipsburg, N. J., were guests of Mr. and Mrs. James McCandless.
Mr. and Mrs. J. C. LAZARUS, of Hazelton, and Mr. and Mrs. Samuel TAIT, of High Bridge, N. J., were guests at the home of William McCandless, Kurtz Street.
Mr. and Mrs. I. L. TIFFANY, of Ashley, Pa., were guests of Mrs. John McHenry, 523 Kurtz Street.
Mrs. Mary MULLEN , of Youngstown, Ohio, was a guest of Mr. and Mrs. James Dougherty, Second Street.
Mrs. HAUGHGRIFF, of Stapleton S. I., was a guest of Mr. and Mrs. William Shere, on the West side.
Mrs. Susan BOWMESITER, of New York, visited her sister, Mrs. William H. Sherer.
Mr. and Mrs. William THOMAS, of Worcester, Mass., spent the week with Mr. and Mrs. James Stewart, Second Street.
Rev. William F. STEINBICKER, a son of St. Paul's Lutheran congregation, who occupied the pulpit of that church Sunday evening, June 28, 1914, spent the week with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Henry Steinbicker. Rev. Steinbicker was employed as a city missionary in New York.
Mrs. John WALTERS and daughter, Marie, of Lynn, Mass., were guests at the home of Captain Joseph Matchette.
Mr. and Mrs. Edward BARTHOLOMEW, of Philadelphia, were guests of the former's mother, Mrs. David Bartholomew.
George DAVIES, of Rochester, N. Y., spent the week with his mother, Mrs. Elizabeth Davies, Second and Race Streets.
Mrs. Frank WILLETTE, of East Orange, N. J., and Earle McAvoy, were guests of Dr. J. F. McAvoy.
Mrs. Alexander KEENAN and children, Mildred and Paul, of Roanoke, Va., and Rev, and Mrs. Samuel MOYER, of Perkasie, Pa., were guests at the home of Hon. Jonas F. Moyer.
Mrs. Sophia BARTHOLOMEW, of Bethlehem, spent the week with Mr. and Mrs. V. C. Brown, on the West side.
John A. FUNK and daughter, Helen, of Akron, Ohio, were guests at the home of Miss Amanda Funk, Front Street.
Rev. and Mrs. W. F. MORE, of Womelsdorf, Pa., spent the week with friends.
T. H. GIBSON and family, of Waverly, Mass., visited relatives at Hokendauqua.
Robert L. FULTON, of Fort Wardsworth, S. I., spent the week with William Fulton.
Mrs. Samuel SOPER, was a guest at the home of William Fulton.
Mrs. Anna Craig FRENCH, of Philadelphia, visited the homes of Mrs. Henry Steward and Mrs. Emma Davis.
Mrs. H. J. CRAIG, of West Philadelphia, was a guest at No. 26 Second Street.
Mae KILLIAM, of Germantown; Rose DUGAN, of Brooklyn, N. Y.; Mrs. John McGrory and family; and Miss Margaret McGrory, of Bridgeport, Pa., were Old Home Week guests of Mrs. Margaret Lynch, 1031 Fourth Street.
Mrs. William ROSS and Miss May ROSS, of Germantown, were guests of Mrs. Alice Stewart, Second Street.
Mrs. GABLE, nee Lawall, of Lancaster, was a guest of Charles Lawall, Kurtz Street.
H. S. YUNDT, of Bethlehem, visited relatives.
Mr. and Mrs. George JOHNSON, of Pittsburgh, spent the week with Mr. and Mrs. Ed. Schlaugh, Kurtz Street.
Miss Sarah SCOTT, was a guest at the home of Miss Elizabeth Morrow, Church Street.
Mrs. WILCOX, of Walden N. Y., was a guest at the home of Charles Lawall, Kurtz Street.
While Catasauqua was paying tribute to the glories of the American Industrial Revolution, of the nineteenth century, the events taking place in Europe would change forever the world in which they lived. By August 1, 1914, less than a month after the celebration all the major powers of Europe were at war. On the eve of the conflict British Foreign Secretary, Sir Edward Grey stated "the lamps are going out all over Europe; we shall not see them lit again in our lifetime."
Within three years, many of the men and boys who marched in the parades, of the Old Home Week celebration, would be marching on the battlefields of Europe. By the time the doughboys returned home, the Iron Borough was something of an anachronism. The Crane Iron Works would survive for a few more years, but the death knell had already been sounded, and most of the other major industries of the borough would soon share the same fate.
Bijou Theatre northeast corner
Front & Walnut Sts.
Bridge Street Presbyterian Church south side of Bridge St.
opposite Fourth St.
Bryden Horse Shoe west side of Front St.,
between Coal & Arch Sts.
Catasauqua High School southwest corner,
Howertown Rd. & Hickory St.
Crane Iron Works west side of Front St.,
between Willow & Gas Sts.
Deemer & Litzenberger (electricians) 117 Bridge Street
Eagle Hotel northeast corner,
Front & Bridge Sts.
Emmanuel Evangelical Church northeast corner,
Second & Walnut Sts.
First Presbyterian Church northeast corner,
Second & Pine Sts.
F. W. Wint Co. (lumber yard) west side of Front St.,
between Gas & Spring Sts.
Grace Methodist Church southwest corner,
Fifth & Walnut Sts.
Koch & Younger (feed & flour store) 321 Second Street
Lehigh National Bank southeast corner,
Front & Bridge Sts.
Lenox Manufacturing Company southeast corner,
Second & School Sts.
Lincoln School west side of Howertown Rd.,
opposite Peach St.
Majestic Theatre southeast corner,
Front & Pine Sts.
Municipal Building northwest corner,
Church & Railroad Sts.
Municipal Water Works southeast corner,
St. John & Walnut Sts.
National Bank of Catasauqua northwest corner,
Second & Bridge Sts.
Palace Theatre southeast corner,
Front & Walnut Sts.
Pennsylvania Hotel northeast corner,
Second & Bridge Sts.
Salem Reformed Church southeast corner,
Third & Walnut Sts.
Schick & Hausman (plumbing & heating). 621 Front Street
Second Street School northwest corner,
Second & Walnut Sts.
St. Lawrence Catholic Church northeast corner,
Second & Chapel Sts.
St. Lawrence Parochial School northwest corner,
Second & Chapel Sts.
St. Mary's Parochial School southwest corner,
Second & Union Sts.
St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church northwest corner,
Second & Union Sts.
St. Paul's Lutheran Church 417 Howertown Road
St Stephen's Episcopal Church southwest corner,
Howertown Rd. & Walnut St.
Trinity Lutheran Church northeast corner,
Third & Bridge Sts.
Allentown Morning Call (microfilm)
Lambert. James F., and Reinhard, Henry J., A History of Catasauqua, Pennsylvania 1914
Old Home Week Official Program
Portrait and Biographical Record of Lehigh. Northampton and Carbon Counties, 1894
Roberts, Charles R.., et al. History of Lehigh County 1914